I was in the Snowy Mountains, but I was missing the Himalayas

in Dream Steem2 days ago
In June 2020, I went to Snowy Mountain with a coworker and reached the top point. There was beauty all around, and right In front, I could see a long road and a mountain wrapped in a white snow sheet. I could also see the small hills merging into each other.

IMG-20240707-0021.jpg

But was I happy?

This was the scene that was slowly driving me into crazy thoughts about my neighborhood places in the great Himalayas. I was living every moment and every step, moving forward, when suddenly something touched my face; it felt like maybe it was going to rain. After some time, that touch increased. That white touch started spreading all around me. I was happy to see this, but I was still remembering Gulmarg, Kashmir, and the Himalayas.

I have been to the Snowy Mountains many times, and every time I went there I felt that something was missing. Whenever I saw the mountains of my neighboring states back in India, I felt nothing could be better or more beautiful than this. I have lived in the mountains and realized that nothing is more beautiful than living in snow-clad mountains. But here in the Snowy Mountains, it is only the momentary beauty that reminds me of my native place.

Whiletravelingg in the Himalayas, I climbed the peaks. I touched the sky the day I was in Khilanmarg at the beginning of February a couple of years ago, and there were more than 20 feet of snow under my feet.

In the beginning, I was full of excitement and energy as I heard about Snowy Mountain, which is the only place in Australia where it snows. I left by my car at 6 in the morning from Canberra with a coworker of mine, as we had to do a trek after reaching there. This was my first time going there in 2017. We were passing through very beautiful sights on the mountain.

IMG-20240727-0041.jpg

The sun was bright, which was a sign of good weather and our exciting journey. First, we stopped at a place on the way and relieved some of our stiffness, and then we started walking in the mountains. We kept going, and we found some amazing views, which made us feel that we should see them leisurely.

The view ahead was becoming beautiful. Snow-clad mountains were visible far away. Sunlight was still falling directly on the mountains, and when we went a little ahead, suddenly I saw a white sheet. At first, I thought that it might be clouds, but when I looked carefully, it was a white sheet of snow on the mountains.

I was happy, but these were not the mountains that I saw in my country. One feels happy seeing such things for the first time in Australia, but this happiness is not the same as what I feel in Kashmir or Uttarakhand.

I remember when I stayed in Gulmarg for the first time, there was nothing for miles in the snowy field except a few tourist huts and local residents, small restaurants by the locals, and tourists carrying wooden boat-like skateboards. The weather would suddenly take a turn in the Himalayas. Darkness would start to prevail in the weather. The trees would look black due to the darkness, and the white sheet visible behind them spread a shade of beauty in different colors.

Now, we had come close to the snowy mountain, and the road was looking very beautiful. There were lush green trees, and a lake, and, as far as I could see, there were mountains and snow everywhere. After some time, we reached the tourist spot, and now our next stop was trekking and skiing.

IMG-202407-00036.jpg

The white sheet that I was so eager for was now right in front of us. We were going towards it. There was a lot of good in this climb, including pleasant weather, peace, snowy fields, and a snow-clad mountain. The mountain looks beautiful, and the white coating adds a different charm to it. Seeing the beauty of the mountain, I felt better.

But was it really so?

As we were moving ahead, the weather was getting colder due to the height, and cold winds were blowing. But my body was missing something while walking here. There was nothing like what I felt while walking in the Himalayas.

I stopped there and started looking at that mountain covered in a white sheet. I had thought that in the months of May and June, there would be a lot of white snow all around us. After that white rain, the weather would be colder, but it was not so. I felt like, as we collect artificial snow in Mussoorie and Shimla in the summer and tourists enjoy it, the same was going on here.

I was in the Snowy Mountains, but after reaching here, the picture started getting clearer. I kept going, but I did not see anything that could remind me of the Himalayas, although my local coworker was pretty happy because he had never been to the great Himalayas.

Beneficiary hive-107855

Sort:  

Kashmir or Heaven on earth?

I think your heart is still in Himalayas.
And that's understandable.

I have never been to mountains but i have read a novel that made me fall in love with mountains.

Especially, Rakaposhi, a deadly mountain, where faries live, lovers unite, and go for an expedition.

The cruel mountain didn't spare one of their fellows.

Ahhh but the mountain addiction, called them again and again to lose what precious thing they have left.

❤💔

 2 days ago 

Thanks, I hope you go to the mountains soon and experience the thrill that comes with it. I also wish that return from there without losing anything that you cherish so much and they prove heaven and not as deadly as you feel.

Ameen:)

It is impossible to exceed the maximum... I understand you so well! Thank you for this post!

 yesterday 

Thanks for the remark but ...I kinda missed the point.

Okay, I'll try it another way, sorry: you've seen the most majestic and impressive thing there is. Everything else can still be beautiful and attractive, but pales in comparison...

 yesterday 

I was thinking the same because you have also seen some of what I have seen. But I just wanted to make sure. That's true, the one who has gone up to 16k feet would never feel the same at 6k feet.

اصل چیز کی کمی ہمیشہ محسوس ہوتی ہے ۔
بیشک آپ اصل کی جگہ نقل چیز استعمال کر لیں مگر وہ اصل آپکو کسی نہ کسی طریقے سے کمی محسوس کروائے گی ۔
باقی سفید چادر دیکھنے کی حسرت ان سے پوچھیے جو گرمی میں دن کو بس جلتا اور رات کو اس جلاتی ہوئی روشنی کی شدت کو بس کم ہوتا دیکھتے ہیں ۔
آپ کا سفر یقین یاد گار رہا ہو گا ۔
مگر ایک چیز بتائیں آپ کا تجربہ شاید میرے لیے آگے آنے والی پہاڑی سفر کیلئے مفید مند ہو۔
مجھے پہاڑی سفر کیلئے کیا اقدامات کرنے چاہیے ۔

 2 days ago 

I think we share the Himalayas in both our countries so why not take advantage of going to hills on your side of the Himalayas? I guess Pakistan has a large number of places where you can go and enjoy mountains.

بلکل بہت سے مقامات ہیں جیسا کہ تولی پیر ،پیر چناسی ،مشکپری ٹاپ وغیرہ ۔

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!

This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @ruthjoe

 2 days ago 

Thanks @ruthjoe, the Steem's Angel 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41