A Poem; A Vengeful Heart

in Dream Steem7 months ago (edited)

Hi, dreamers and Steemians, this is my first post in this community that is totally independent and not based on any contests.

I tried my hand at poetry today. I wrote my first poem ever. It was really surprising and limit breaking for me as I only wrote stories or articles but never poetry. The poem was inspired by a picture but it's sad that i can't post the picture here as it's copyrighted. I would like to share my poem with you and hear your thoughts or comments on it. Thanks in advance😊.

A Vengeful Heart

I'm not sorry I had to do this to you,
Though it's something I might rue.
I had to be the one to hold the knife
Cause with you, it's been a life of strife

Never to smile, never to be happy.
On some days, you could be sappy
Doesn't mean you could get through to the heart you broke.
After your mistakes, I almost got a stroke.

I should have just let you go.
But a vengeful heart is not one to forgot.
So, I picked up the pieces of my heart alone.
Ready to pierce through you to the bone.

Now, I have to walk away.
Leave you shattered with no one to play.
Worst thing I feel is regret.
Regrets for the day we shouldn't have ever met

~ celts

Sort:  

The attempt was worth it! Poetry can sometimes actually express things for which we would otherwise lack the right words...

Yes exactly. I must admit it was cathartic for me. Thanks for your comments◉⁠‿⁠◉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68843.90
ETH 3813.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48