Turn On Sad Music | A poem about the beauty of sadness

in Dream Steem8 months ago

image.png

Turn on sad music!
I need to feed this sorrowful sensation.
My heart wails,
And she needs resonation.
Again there is this pang in my soul,
A stab in the heart, a burning coal.
I do not yearn to be soothed,
To have my heart's rocky cliffs smoothed.
I have an unfulfillable longing,
Now let me bleed.
I am the song that I am singing,
They're in my heart, the bells that are ringing.
Drown me in music, thus my soul will be freed,
Divine melodies flowing through my chest,
My mind flying through unknown lands blessed,
Lands far away, yet so familiar,
I've never been there, but 'tis so natural
To dissolve into the waves of the sound,
Touched by the vibrations in the air all around.
Another soul's blood flowing into mine,
We ache together, our feelings entwine
In the intensity of a violin's cry,
In thoughts broader than the vastness of the sky.
I do not wish to be made numb,
With the voices inside me silent and dumb.
I wish to be amplified and to bleed,
So turn on sad music - to you I plead.


Thank you for reading!
Credits: cover photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash.
This poem has previously been published on Vocal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69398.84
ETH 3695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.32