Significance of digit 7 in human civilization.

in Dream Steem5 months ago (edited)

counting-149957_1280.png

Source

I have this weird habit of counting till 7 whenever I am without my phone or indulge in a thinking mode or simply practice living in the moment. It's happening since i memorized tables in schools. For instance: when i see dozens of crows in the sky i count them, i stop counting on 7 even if there are many more crows. I count floral, dots, circles, or any pattern printed on my clothes or present in my surrounding, but only till digit 7. I can't explain, it's already sounding stupid

7 is my favourite number, I'll forever pick it over other digits. It's not that i find it lucky or unlucky. I just like it, that's why my email adress contains 7. I choose odd numbers over even numbers always.

I was reading a non-fiction the other day when i came to know that 7 is the average number our brain can memorize easily. Meaning it's the limit for our brain to handle information that contains 7digits or 7words effortlessly.

IMG-20240130-WA0012-1.jpg

7 roses my friend's fiance gifted her

That's why our phone numbers usually consist of 7 digits so that our cognition system can quickly recall it for short term, in our **working memory**.

Our brain remember digits in chunks so is the case with phone numbers.

Pakistani numbers are 11-12 digits long, out of them 4-5 are country/SIM card company codes while remaining 7 counts for actual phone number.
+92 300 0000000-
+92 300(codes) 0000000(7digit no.)-

Working memory is helpful in decision making and reasoning but on a temporary basis. Our brain can only memorize 5-9 pieces of information normally, in which 7 is the ideal digit, above all for only 10-20 minutes

Now that you have known how our brain works so shall we begin to explore the digit 7 in human civilization?

Things We all know that make us realise it's seven everywhere:

  • We have seven days in a week
  • Steemit payout comes in 7 days, so is the 7th anniversary of steemit, and so are words in my title.
  • Seven seas in the world
  • 7wonders of the world, though some say there are 8
  • we have 7 continents
  • PH ranges from 0-14 on scale and neutrality lies on number 7. E.g: Water has 7PH
  • women bleed for 7 days each month
  • 7 notes of music
  • 7colours of rainbow-Red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet.

IMG_20210525_052159_438-1.jpg

7 shades of Rainbow

Rainbow is seen when sunrays fall on water droplets and refract instead of reflecting. So the light rays go inside the water drops which act as a prism and we see a rainbow in the sky. Because light encases all the colours.

There are also many rituals which are native to different religions regarding number 7.

Let's explore them...

In Christianity: God has created the universe in 6 days and took rest from all the work on 7th day.

So is the belief among Muslims regarding universe creation in 6days followed by Almighty Allah setting on his throne afterward.

Muslims and Jewish share common belief that there are seven skys/heavens. Likewise, there are seven level and doors of hell. Each level is designed for a specific kind of sinners.

The deepest or 7th level of hell is for hypocrites.

While in skys or heavens live prophets. Following prophets live in the sky:

  • 1st heaven-Adam and Eve live here
  • 2nd heaven-(Īsā)Jesus and Yahya(John) live here
  • 3rd- Yūsuf (Joseph) live
  • 4th- Idrīs live
  • 5th-Aaron/Haroon(A.S) here
  • 6thheaven- Musa (A.S)/Moses live
  • 7th heaven-Ibrahim/Abraham(father of prophets) live

It is in our belief that there is a tree on the 7th heaven beyound it no Angel or any other cresture can go and know about it.

It's unseen

The throne of Almighty is beyound this limit. Things coming from sky and going above from the earth terminate here.

This tree is called Sidrat al Muntaha, a large enigmatic Lote tree, marks the end of the seventh heaven and the utmost extremity for all of God's creatures and heavenly knowledge.

Our prophet had physically gone there accompanied by Angel jibrael with the speed of light on Burak at night. It's one of the miracles:)

Some scientists say it's actually the black hole where falls the stars and nothings come out of it once go inside.

In Hindu tradition, bride and groom walk around a sacred fire 7 times when getting married. It's called 7 pheray/ circumambulations.

Scarves of both bride and groom are tied, some prefer to hold each others hand while walking around the fire. I remember in some circumambulations bride follows groom and in the remaining groom walks behind her.

I know this all because I grew up watching Indian dramas and their culture. We have a lot common with them when it comes to show off on weddings and some unnecessary rituals.

IMG-20240330-WA0038-1.jpg

7 plates of Mehandi and candles on one of our wedding ceremony, decades old picture

Hindus also believe in 7lives, each person is born 7times and goes in hell or heaven, followed by initiation of another life and repeat.

7 circumambulations among Muslims

  • Muslims who perform hajj walk around Kabah 7times. Kabah is the huge black room, quranic verses are written on it with gold wires.
  • pilgrims also walk 7times between mountain Safa and Marwa, where Hajra (A.S) walked seven times in search of water for her son. A channel of water eventually emerged on her 7th walk. It has built into a well now, its water is called Zamzam, pilgrims drink it while their stay.

IMG-20220714-WA0070.jpg

Pilgrims revolve 7 times around Kabah while performing Hajj-my uncle sent me this picture while performing Umrah (another ritual in our faith)

  • Zamzam has the power to heal any ailment if prayed for healing before drinking it with full belief.

Children born are also given names and circumcised on 7th day in our religion. However, it's sunnah and not mandatory so people do it with their own convenience.

The famous interpretation of the dream of Egypt's king by Yusuf (A.S)/Joseph signifies 7.

Once a king had a dream that there are 7 fat cows and 7 lean cows, 7lean cows are eating fat ones.
And
There are 7green ear of corn and other 7 dry ear.

Yusuf was in jail when king had this dream so his people went to him for its interpretation.

Yusuf said: there will see 7 years of abundance in your crop followed by 7 years of femine. So, harvest as much as you can in 7years, don't consume all of it instead store the crop in its husk to use it during 7 years of femine (when there will be no crop).

King was amused by this interpretation and did as he was told. This strategic economic planning saved people of Egypt from harsh femine unlike the rest of the deserted areas nearby.

IMG-20220714-WA0085.jpg

4+3=7, my mamo (mother's brother) sent this from Makkah

IMG_20161118_122800-1-1.jpg

7 cots

20220731_142504-1.jpg

7 habits:a good old read

So these were some glimpses of 7 among different religions, science, and psychology.

That was a lot of talk about 7, isn't it.? One can do more only if people don't have short attention span👧

@wakeupkitty.pal this 7digit hooked my attention so i couldn't resist this one:)

Inviting @samina-meenu to come and join this contest.

Sort:  

I just have to believe that the 7 has a deep meaning for you ;-))

The picture of your uncle: does it show the real Kaaba in Mecca? (Is it allowed to take pictures there...?) Or is it a kind of trial Kaaba, where you can practise these circumambulations without going on pilgrimage? I read about something like that last year...

And we also had a beautiful rainbow these days: always nice to see...

1711661169841.JPEG

Taking pictures of the Kaaba is not forbidden as such. However, any act that violates the sanctity of the place is frowned upon. While people can take pictures out of love, it should not be for any purpose other than this. This is the real Kaaba.

P.S. Rainbows look awesome. I love rainbows.

Your rainbow is beautiful.

Actually yes, we are allowed to take pictures while performing hajj or umrah. People stay there for longer period of time to worship. It's ok if they take some pictures every now and than.

Because it's an expensive trip to Almighty's house so it's compulsory to click the sacred buildings, to feel its ambiance later on while watching it digitally.

P.S: It's the real Kabah, magnificent❤

You have walked us through snippets of history, the present, and perhaps the future, through 7...

That could be a story of seven shades of symbolism, with a touch of your personal reflection!

Do you have number 7 in your birthdate also? Just wondering...

7 7 everywhere
I just put its title randomly.

Do you have any feelings for seven?:p

Do you have number 7 in your birthdate also? Just wondering...

Nope it has 2 and 3 in it actually.

Someone close to my heart born on 7th ❤️

It must be your first born daughter , just guessing👧👧👧

Her father maybe :)

You've quite thoroughly dug number 7. Loved reading all the information.


On another note...
Astrology says my lucky number is 7.

My birth month is 7.
I started school in 1997.
I got 786 marks in matric.
My first child was born in 2017.

So, I don't see how and why 7 isn't a crucial number. 😉

Oh wao you have quite a lot of 7s in your life.
Astrology proved right on your side👏

My schooling started in the year and month of 9/11 incident😑😑😑 My birth month is also 9,got 849, 800 marks in matric and fsc, but who cares.

In my case, i haven't checked my lucky number. What if it doesn't come out 7:(

So i have made it my crucial number khudi dhakkay say hi😃

With us I don't think 7 is special it is more like a biblical thing like the 7 bad years never been followed by the 7 good ones.

With us a child has to be given and registered before the 3rd day after birth, and to push women they decided we only bleed for three days. There are 3 little pigs, 3 wise kings from the East and the heavens are reduced to 1 plus to only.some the hell still exists. We have 3 daily meals, just one if we can't afford it, and after the 3 year children are send to school.

While I am writing this it sounds as if we have smaller brains.

They say there are 7 atmosphere's around earth if this is true this means the heavens exist.

 #comment - egg hunt heart.jpg

biblical thing like the 7 bad years never been followed by the 7 good ones.

Here 7 good years were followed by 7 bad ones.

So it's 3 on your side.
I also started going to the school when i was 3. These days mothers won't turn their kids inside the school until they are 4 or 5.

I would be great if we had another contest on 3 to know more from your side.

They say there are 7 atmosphere's around earth if this is true this means the heavens exist.

This reminds me of my last paper of environmental sciences when i had to memorize all the layers in the atmosphere and its gases, pretty boring but informative it was.

However, they were talking about only the atmosphere of this earth and its sky^

For sure we can write something about each number... it might be interesting to figure out the difference.

@aminasafdar (64) 7 is my lucky number, I feel happy to read your post. Ma Sha Allah it's very true and contains important details, best wishes dear.

7 is my lucky number

Good to know that, so it's 7, magnificent😀

@aminasafdar, your story has made me reflect and from today I too will have my number 7 to consider. It's fascinating to read how many times it turns out to be such a significant number. I've always given more importance to 3, believing it was perfect, at least that's what I heard, not from my own knowledge in numerology, but now I see 7 as the number worthy of perfection. On this journey among the many manifestations of the number 7, I was forgetting that my daughter was born exactly on the 7th day, interesting.🤔

my daughter was born exactly on the 7th day,

O wao coincidence💫

Actually, despite all the facts or beliefs about number 7 i always had a thing for 7.

Odds are attractive.

I have 3 in my Facebook and instagram ID. It's my kind of love language😂

Do you do that too?

I believe coincidences attract pure souls. My affection for the number 7 stems from it bringing forth what is most precious to me in life. I don't have numbers in my accounts, but it's an interesting idea. The number 3 represents perfection; it's lovely of you to associate it with love.👋

🌹 for your precious one,👧

honored! I don't know what time it is at your place but I wish you a good evening🌹

@aminasafdar
Congratulation! You are a Winner 🌈✌️

Yay, so are you😊🎊🎊🎊
Thank you @ibesso

welcome!😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48