BEATING THE IMPOSSIBLE!

in Motivation Story2 years ago

you are not alone.jpg

So let me tell you a funny tale...

It is about a human doing something that was initially thought to be impossible. 🐑

Sometime last month, I asked a question.

“What is your best way to gain information?”

I said through films or videos, and I wasn’t a fan of books.

Well, guess what? I decided to check if I was truly not a fan of books.

“Do not conclude if you’ve not started”.

I started a book challenge on the 31st of May. Said I wanted to instil the habit of reading without complaining.

Tough one 😑.

The book I read was How To Win Friends And Influence People by Dale Carnegie.

Yeah. These boring inspirational books😒.

The book has 30 chapters that are divided into four parts. And I was to review one part for each week, no matter how many chapters are there.

The first week was awesome. Just 3 chapters. Who that one help?

Reviewed and wrote them.

Easy peasy.

The second week was a bit uneasy but I did it.

Contained 6 chapters. Assigned one chapter to one day to make things easier.

Did I procrastinate? Oh yes. It’s not easy to cultivate a habit. You don’t just snap your fingers and say, Viola!

Discipline + Intentionality = Habit building.

Third week 🤣! I saw shege! 😂

The third part has 12 chapters. So I had to read 2 chapters a day and they were long as hell😂.

I skip a day, I’m reading four chapters the next. Mind you, I had to review each chapter as I read it.

I skipped two days. Guess how many I read on Sunday, which was the day to post the review? I wanted to give up.

“How am I supposed to read all those chapters on Sunday?! It’s not like it’s my thing sef. If I give up, nobody will know. It’s not like no one will notice!”

I don’t know what happened but I was like, “ I’ve started. Make I just finish am if no one is seeing it”.
In part four, I stuck to my plans.

It had 9 chapters. Planned how I was going to read it and continued.

I wouldn’t say it was easier than the first week but it was easier to read and understand.

Surprisingly, the book contains a whole lot I didn’t know and made me see things I called normal as abnormal.

What I learnt:

Don’t say you’re not good at something if you’ve not tried it.

Not just try it, try it with your full attention.

Books contain a whole lot more value than videos. Videos can’t get everything. Except for live videos😂.

Whatever you put your heart to do, you can do it no matter what!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49