True life Story

IMG-20210529-WA0031.jpg

I wrote jamb three times without success. In all my three attempts, I never scored up to the threshold of 200 to qualify for the famous post UTME. My parents had wanted me to apply for diploma programme in Medicine which will take me directly to 200 level if I became successful but deep down i wanted to study computer Engr

I elected to join my dad as an apprentice at Venn Road South where he does business than apply for the programme mum suggested. I went on hunger strike to show them how serious I was about my decision.

One thing I love about my dad is that he will never force you to do anything you have made up your mind you don't want to do. One Sunday evening during one of those days, he informed me that I will be joining him at the shop so I can resume my choosen profession.

Monday came with alot of expectations. I didn't sleep well the preceding night. Morning came and we set off to Venn Road South, very close to New Market Road, Onitsha. I cleaned and dusted the shop and wares he sells(photo frames of different kinds and machines). Nobody came to the shop to ask us what we are selling not to talk of how much we were selling from the morning hours till around 2pm when dad asked a close by food vendor to get me lunch.

At 6pm, we locked up the shop without selling a single item. On our way home, dad got Banana and groundnut for us as he usually does and we went home.

We set out again, on Tuesday and the same scenario as that of Monday repeated itself again likewise on Wednesday. As a young boy, who never use to care whether my parents has money or not but make demands, I felt a bit of undisclosed pain of what a man that has up to 8 kids and other dependants goes through.

How can a man who went to his place of business without making a single sale for straight three days and yet still ready to sponsor me in the University feel about my decision. Indeed I felt for him.

On Thursday morning, after morning prayers I asked my mum if the offer to apply for the diploma programme was still on the table and she said yes. I told her I wanted to apply. Everyone was suprised at my sudden change of heart. They obliged me and I apply for diploma programme.

I was lucky to be among the successful candidates that were admitted into prestigeous University of Nigeria to Study Physiotherapy but my love for Computer Science didn't die. I finally fall in love with physiotherapy when i discover that their is branch of physiotherapy known as Neuroprosthetics (also called neural prosthetics, is a discipline related to neuroscience and biomedical engineering concerned with developing neural prostheses)

Whenever I remember this story, I keep thanking God for the kind of parents I have. They have and still inspire me till date and I owe them. I learnt my lessons.

Today makes it 5 years since got admission and I have enjoyed every bit of it.

I owe to God and my parents for their direction towards the path I have choosen for myself.

This is my story.

Cc: @steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@steemitblog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84