Hairworm organism

in HeartSTEM3 years ago

SAVE_20210610_123726.jpg

Source

In the olden days, people thought that the so-called horsehair snake originated from horsehair that has feeling in the water.

But scientists today have shown us that these organisms are nighter horse nor snakes but I counted among the members of the nematomorpha small phylum.
Many people had believed that this type of one family looks somewhat like the hairs of a horse and they are about 6 inches in length, black or brown and as well seem to be thick.

They live in almost everybody of Freshwater and are often found in the drinking trough. Observation has shown that this particular type of worm can outgrow in areas they have never been found before. Studies documented that reasons why hairworms show this character of development owns to the fact that their larvae grow as parasites in insects and the adults emerge full-grown from where they reside in the insect's host.

Now having this in mind we can assume that they are carried into a pond or stream by heavy rain or through the help of their hosts when they approach the water.

If care is not carried out, one can mistakenly refer the hairworm to a class of the phylum Nematoda because they look like roundworms in structure.
The adult is free-living and this feature marks their life history unique, unlike the parasitic nematodes.

Although this feature is insignificant as the adults in many cases lack a mouth and even those with mouth probably do not feed. So we better refer to the free-living adults as the reproductive stage and it may last for months sometimes.
The female hairworm lays eggs in long egg strings which she attaches around the water plants. The larvae that hatch have a spiny proboscis using which they bore their way into the body of an aquatic insect larva.

Till now, experts are yet to understand fully the next stages of hairworm, although we can get grown-up ones in the body of land battles, grasshoppers, and crickets.
To explain how they're transferred to these organisms. Possibly, they move to the land host when they're matured, and are eaten by beetles; or the first insect host may die and its parasitic hairworm larva escapes and bore their way into the second host.
While in the body of the second host, they mature into adults which then return to the water to mate and lay eggs.

Who Am I?

I am just a beginner who lives in the Western Hemisphere of Africa with his parents. My name is James but you can notify me with @churchangel, here.😂 Being the first child, My parents, Mr. and Mrs. Onu who are just wonderful And hardworking couples. My father is an electrical engineer while my mother is a trader. They always work collaboratively just to make sure that their children don't lack the necessities. I graduated from high school in the year 2018. And My favorite subjects are physics chemistry and biology. I am going to enter the university because my goal is to study these subjects in the future and to become a respected professional in one of the fields. Between, I am an accomplished computer hardware technician. After I obtained my SSCE certificate, I took interest in learning more about computer hardware and its maintenance. I am obsessed with all tech-related and I enjoy using my skill to contribute to the exciting technological advances. I'd spend my free time learning about programming and also assisting people on how to fix any problem related to Tech! 💞*********🌹❤️Special thanks to my supporters❤️🌹********💞 At this very moment, I am unable to find a suitable words to express my gratitude over all your supports. You guys generosity never ceases to amaze me. This space has become a place of fun for me. All because of colleagues like you. Thanks for being there for me. I will always appreciate all your kindness and supports towards me and my family💕.
Sort:  

I used to think they nematodes until now that i see it.
Nice work.

Nice article. I can't imagine what an insect must feel like infected with a nematode

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43