Feathered Friends- Unusual Bird's Nest and Feather

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

Hi everyone! I was at the park and saw this bird's nest in the overhang for the picnic table. I have never seen a nest like this one before so that is why I say that it is unusual. I didn't see any birds flying around to give me a clue as to what bird made this nest. Maybe our bird expert @melinda010100 knows.

At a different location I found this bird high up on a branch and this unusual bird feather on the ground.

I don't know if this feather belongs to the bird on the branch. I will show my appreciation (hint, hint) if you can solve these two mysteries for me.

Thanks for your help!

All photos are my own.

I proudly and happily support Feathered Friends by @melinda010100.

80pli5.png

This fun artwork is by @barbara-orenya.

Sort:  

Looks like a Swallow's nest to me.
If so they flew south for the winter and won't return till the weather warms up.

Thanks so much for the ID on the nest Bud! They have a long wait to return because it is still way too cold here. 1-SBI for your help. : )

Barn Swallows build nests like this...

external-content.duckduckgo.gif

Thanks Mike! I appreciate your help. Someone else beat you to the prize though.

I would have to agree with barn swallow nest, but I'm uncertain about the bird or the feather! Wish I could help.
Thanks for posting to #featheredfriends. !Tip

No problem Melinda. I won't lose any sleep over it. LOL! Thanks so much for the tip. : )

🎁 Hi @whatisnew! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Feathered Friends Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you!

Howdy Butterfly! Spoken like a true city girl! Unusual nest and unusual feather? lol..Did I ask how you're doin up there? Not too cold for ya I hope.

Yup, you've got that right. A true city girl...that is me. I sure would love to live in the country now.

Well I think you were raised in the wrong place! From what I can tell you sound more like a nature loving country girl(except for the spider thing) than a city girl. And see there, you want to live in the country anyway.

Where would that be, if you had the choice?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99