SEC-S18W2/I hope it rains coffee

in Shine with Steem2 months ago

Greetings!! Friends of Steemit and Shine with Steem.

IMG_20240528_162426293.jpg

A smaller pico beverage of Starbucks' will cost 200 INR which is just 40 times of a cheapest cup of tea in Kolkata.

Coffee is still considered as Elite drink for majority of indian except southern part where coffee is grown. India consumes $51.5 Bln coffee per annum and the cost of coffee in India is as same as US and UK which is unreasonably high as India produces plenty of coffee.

Coffee is never the morning first drink for me. I came to know about coffee in childhood at a relative's house. Actually we were not given tea upto age of 10. I picked up the habit from my boarding school. I never saw a coffee machine or filter at home. I think we started drinking coffee with the advent of instant coffee by Nestle.

Inspite of initiative by Indian Coffee Board coffee never become house hold drink in our generation. Coffee Board have three outlets in the city of Kolkata selling ready made filtered coffee. But the outlets were never popular among masses. It was again popular among college students and intellectuals.

One local machine called espresso machine popularized coffee in big market places and office areas. I still remember whenever we used to go to our shop at Burrabazar we used to have coffee in small earthenware from road side corner tea stall. It was never called a coffee stall. At present also whenever I go to that area I have a Cup of espresso coffee at ₹10 which is really refreshing.

In between a coffee vending machine introduced by Nestle which uses coffee premix. It has four options like making milk tea, lemon tea and hot water alongwith milk coffee. These machines were installed in many offices and canteens. I still have this coffee from a roadside stall who has recently installed it where coffee is ₹10 per cup.

In the year 1996 an organised coffee chain shoppe came to Indian cities called Cafe Coffee Day (CCD). They also supplied latte and capachino machine to institutes particularly supper speciality hospitals and railway canteens. Of course I had the opportunity to visit the place for several times. They most probably Targeted Gen Z. Unfortunately due sad demise of the founder and covid, majority of outlets are closed. However there are 490 outlets still operating. The nearest CCD from my house is at 1.4 km away and another one at 1.6 km. Average expense is ₹200-400 per person.

Yesterday I tried a cold milk coffee with NESCAFE Clasic soluble pure coffee powder and a pinch of Cadbury cocoa without sugar. I used cocoa not for flavour but for colour as the sachet contains only one gram of coffee. It costs ₹2 ie 2000 INR ($24) per kg It was earlier 1.4g and stated as one serve.

IMG_20240528_161726303.jpg

Flipkart Health product

Yesterday I also had a coffee bar ice cream.

IMG_20240528_141746181.jpg

IMG_20240528_142056449.jpg

Yes the famous song in Bengali by the great maestro Padmashree Manna Dey always come to my mind first when I heard the word "I hope it rains coffee". The song is the nostalgia of gossiping with friends at Kolkata Coffee House. The YouTube link of song.

I have a small regret of missing Karma's Coffee at Thimphu Bhutan in two trips.

Before I conclude I would like to invite three fellow Steemians to participate in the contest. @crismenia @joymm @eveetim.

Thank you for reading my post.

@impersonal

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 months ago 

Saludos amigo
Es un placer saludarte
El café es la bebida más tomada en el mundo.
Ahora con la llegada de esas espectaculares máquinas que hacen un cappuccino demasiado rico 😋
Te deseo éxito en la participación

 2 months ago 

Thank you so much ma'am.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Like you've rightly stated, I knew about coffee with the brand of Nestle. I've not been a fan of coffee and won't be, that's the truth, I just love to inhale the smell of it.

It's great to know that coffee is regarded as elites drink in your country. Great publication, here's sending you best wishes sir.

 2 months ago 

Thank you very much for the supportive comment and good wishes.

 2 months ago 

@impersonal
I really like your post and your presentation is very good and you have expressed it perfectly. What is really good about coffee is that it is a great source for our good mood. The best way is coffee anyway coffee makes us love and love when two or three people sit together and drink coffee we get a chance to drink coffee then we love and love increases we share with each other and In this way we are closer to each other the way you have shared with us the method of making coffee is very awesome very nice anyone can try this method to make coffee easily and enjoy it. Thank you so much for your comment

@mona01

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator05. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.

 Post.jpg


Curated by : @chant

 2 months ago 

@chant thank you for supporting. It really means a lot to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76