Urdu community Contest / S2W2 – Language. How does language connect an individual to his family, globe or specific society.? by @predomina

in Urdu Community2 years ago
Fellow steemians welcome to season two of the engagement challenge for week number 2. Today I am presenting my entry on the topic "How does language connect an individual to his family, globe or specific society.?", I urge you all to read through my blog.

images.png
Source


What is meant by language? Define language in your own words.


In my understanding, language can be seen as a medium through which people in a particular geographical location communicate with each other. Languages give rise to effective communication between people in a certain environment. Before this time, we have read that the entire earth speak the same language until the tower of babel was destroyed.

According to the Bible, we read that the entire universe was speaking the same language and men decided to build a tower to get to heaven, so when God saw this he said let's go and confuse their language because the power of language is what made them successful till the point they got. Seeing that men can do anything once they understand each other their languages was confusing.

So these people who were progressively building this tower became very confused and the entire project stopped. The people were scattered all over the world and that is the reason why we are having a different language in the world today. My state happens to be one of the states in my country where we believe that part of the tower of babel fell. The reason I said this is because we have different languages apart from my mother tongue.


How does language connect an individual to his family, globe or specific society?


Just as I have stated earlier, language is a powerful tool that connects people. Once people speak the same language then the possibilities of doing anything will be seen. The instance of the Bible is a clear indication that when people speak the same language they can make exploit the world.

The power of language also goes a long way in connecting people. Today, we are all together on the steemit platform just because we can understand each other. People from all over the world today participate on the steemit platform because we can read and understand the articles written by all. The power of language makes impossible things very possible.

Another instance is if a Nigerian goes to India, and then he hears someone speaking his mother tongue, he wi be attracted to such a person and will want to interact with that person because he sees that person as his/her brother. This is the same for everyone on earth.


Which is your mother tongue? and which languages ​​are spoken and understood in your home other than your mother tongue?


My mother tongue is Ubanlaku. As I have stated earlier, there are many languages in my state cross river state. There are stories that when the tower of babel was destroyed, part of the building fell into cross river state and that is the reason why we have different languages in the state. Though there are three different major languages in Nigeria I.e Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba. Mine is not among the major tribes.

Other than my mother tongue Ubanlaku, the language we speak fluently in my home is English. English happens to be the general language used by all Nigerians because we were colonized by Great Britain. My family trained us all to speak good and correct English to enable us to communicate effectively with people from the outside world.


How many languages ​​do you know and how did you learn more than one language?


I only know 3 different languages I.e my mother tongue Ubanlaku, English and Igbo. I decided to learn one of the major languages in Nigeria. Recall that I have stated above that Nigeria is made up of 3 different languages aside from the English language.

I learnt my mother tongue from my home since I was a child. I had the privilege to learn English during my school period and the Igbo language I learned when I was working with an Igbo man in Anambra State Nigeria. That is how I got to learn the other languages aside from my mother's tongue.


In which language did you study in school to university and which language do you prefer in the education system in your country and why?


The English language is the language that is formally used in Nigerian schools and for that reason, I was taught using English. To the best of my knowledge, this language is used because it is seen as the general language for all Nigerian since teachers are sent from different parts of the world.

I prefer the use of the English language in our university. The reason is that I want a language that can be universally accepted so that even if we go out we can still be able to communicate with each other effectively. Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba are languages that are used mostly just in Nigeria and for that reason, I need a language that is accepted by many more countries for effective communication.


How does one language or more than one language play an important role in the development of society.?


When people are living together with the same language, the possibility of development within the area is very high. Take the story in the Bible as an example, when the people spoke the same language they were able to progress in the building of their tower but when their language was confused, the building stopped because they can no longer understand each other.

It is not always easy for people with different languages to make progress together because their points of view are always different. For development to take place, people should understand their self properly and have the same mindset.


How does culture relate to language?


Culture goes a long way to relate to language this is because every culture has its language and based on the language there are some do and don't of their culture as well. Based on posture and languages there are things accepted in some languages that are not accepted in others.


Would you like to prefer writing in your language at the time of writing a post on steemit, if yes why and if not why not?


Yes, I would have preferred writing this very post using my mother's tongue and the reason is that I express myself better using my mother's tongue. There is some expression that if spoken in English doesn't translate the real thing or message we are passing but once express in my mother's tongue I get the exact point.


If you want to promote your language in the world, how will you do it? and if you did, then how much success have you achieved?


Promoting my language in the world requires that I translate all the words into an English form or any other form that is understandable by all. I am five the opportunity to do this, I will first ensure that I have it in google and then ensure I have it as add to translators such that if a text is written in any language you can be given the option to translate to Ubanlaku.


Conclusion


Language is very important to all men and can make people achieve a lot in the shortest possible time. Finally, I want to invite @yakspeace, @rad-austine, @dave-hanny and @josepha to join the contest as well.

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.
default.jpg

Thank you for inviting me. Expect my entry soonest. Indeed language is very very important to us and it's the reasons why God gave it to us free of charge.

With the help of languages you can communicate very easy with your brother/sister in the midst of his/her feien without them hearing anything.

I love those that can speak their own native languages very well. Indeed you have done so well in your write and am impressed.

Thank you for sharing.

You know three different languages, your mother tongue is Ubanlaku. But apart from that you know two more extra languages. It was very nice to see. In fact, we should learn two more languages besides our mother tongue, you have done it.

Thanks, friend

According to the Bible, we read that the entire universe was speaking the same language and men decided to build a tower to get to heaven, so when God saw this he said let's go and confuse their language because the power of language is what made them successful till the point they got

Yeah I remember this biblical reference of how we got to have different languages on earth. Man was so united in one Language that they wanted to challenge God.

Culture goes a long way to relate to language this is because every culture has its language and based on the language there are some do and don't of their culture as well.

This is true. Culture and language are intertwined. I also believe Language is a way for us to be able to express our culture.

You did a beautiful post on Language and I especially loved you biblical reference of language. I wish you luck in this contest. You can also engage with me through My link

Thanks my friend

Language is very important to all men, without it communication will be hard, you have written so well about language my dear. I wish you all the best.

Thanks my friend

 2 years ago (edited)

Respected thank you very much for taking participate in Steemit Enagement Challenge | Season2, Week #2.

Post informationStatusGrades
Steemexclusive✅ /1/1
Plagiraism / Bot free✅ /1/1
300 words/soruce✅ /1/1
Quality of content✅ /1.5/3
Club75✅ /2/2
Markdowns✅ /1.5/2
Total-8/10

it is good effort , keep continue to taking participate in other community also

Nice contest posy. Please invite me toonext time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75