Steemit Engagement Challenge || season2week2~ language. How language connects an individual to his family, globe,or specific society? By @beautiefair

in Urdu Community2 years ago

Hello friends,

The week is moving really fast, and we are already in the week 2 of this engagement challenge. Last week, we talked about how steemit is better or preferred than other social media platforms. This week, we are moving into language as well as its benefits. This is a well selected topic for engagement. Read along as I explore my thoughts through the questions asked.


495606C1-D514-46AE-BE98-2B879558A6A5.jpeg

What is meant by language? Define language in your own words.

To a layman, language could be seen as what they use to communicate, well to an extent, that is right., but language is much deeper than that. To me, I will define language as either written words, spoken words, or signs that could be used to communicate as well as express our thoughts. Why did I include signs as language? Well, we have people around us today, who are disabled(deaf and dumbs), one of the ways which they communicate is through the use of signs. Some go to school to learn either the British or the American Sign Language. The blind also have their own language, which is known as Braille., it is one in which dots, are used to represent alphabets, as well as numbers. They read through, by tactically touching the dots. Language is something that is common among everyone, irrespective of the physical conditions of a person, there is definitely a language for everyone.

How language connects an individual to his family,globe or specific socieity.

Have you ever gone to a location, that is far away from home, and you finally meet someone who speaks same language with you? At that moment, you will be very happy and glad. I could remember when I went for my orientation camp(NYSC), the room where I stayed, was filled with people from the western part of Nigeria, I could barely understand or here what they say. I was alone, because I was the only one who could not speak or understand them. I felt really lonely, among a hundred of people. When I finally found a person who spoke my mother tongue, we bonded almost immediately. I was very happy. Understand a language will make you feel loved, it will make you happy as well as connected to people who understand you. It creates a very strong and tight bond. When you don’t understand or speak same language with a group of people, you feel left alone, and like an alien in a foreign land.

Which is yours mother tongue? and which languages ​​are spoken and understood in your home other than your mother tongue?

I am from the southern part of Nigeria. We have vast number of Dialect here in the south, but my mother tongue is Ikwerre. What we speak is known as the ikwerre dialect, which somehow, sounds like the Igbo Language although with slight differences. Apart from my mother tongue,we speak the Nigerian Pidgin as well as English language in my home.

How many languages ​​do you know and how did you learn more than one language?

I know how to speak the Nigerian Pidgin, I learnt it as I grew up, as majority of the people around me spoke the Nigerian Pidgin fluently. I also know how to speak French, although not fluently. I learnt French during my school days, as it was a very compulsory language for everyone to learn. I know how to speak English language as it was taught in my school. I learnt the American Sign Language from my church, as it was a means with which we could reach the deaf and dumb with the word of God.

In which language did you study in school to university and which language do you prefer in the education system in your country and why?

Although my school years, English language is the common language used to communicate among students as well as teachers. I prefer the English language as it is a universal language. It was very easy to understand as almost everyone in the world today, knows one or two things about English language.

How one language or more than one languages plays an important role in the development of society.?

In a society where there is one language, there tend to be more communication as well as understanding. No one tends to be left out or not carried along. There exist unity as well as love. There would be no barrier in communication, as good communication system will lead to growth and development of the society.

How does culture relate to language?

Culture could be see as a particular way of life exhibited by a group of specific people. Language itself is culture. When a group of people speak a specific language, it could be referred to as their culture, as that is the language peculiar to them.

Would you like to prefer writing in your own language at the time of writing posting on steemit, if yes why and if not why not?

The answer to this question is NO. Writing using my language will be difficult for me, as the meaning of some words might be misunderstood by different individuals. Even when a person tries to use translator, you find out that the whole information a person is trying to convey is totally lost or misinterpreted. I prefer the use of English language.

If you want to promote your language in the world, how will you do it? and if you already done, then how much success have you achieved?

Promoting my language to the world, means that I need to be first perfect and fluent with it. I can do this through the use of audio as well as videos, I need to spell them correctly as well as pronounce them correctly, so that the meaning of the words are conveyed properly, without error.

Conclusion

Every country as well as people, or tribe have a language that is peculiar to them. Having a unifying language is one that helps to break barriers in communication, it helps us understand ourselves. It also helps foster love and unity among individuals. I will like to invite @meniya @ijelady @tmighty to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Thank you for the invite my friend, i will do my best to participate

Pls do well to participate

I will tomorrow

Language is an act of communication involving signs, speech etc you have written beautifully well ma💃
I can relate to the experience you had during your Nysc days, language give bonding because immediately you found someone of the same mother language you were excited and you bonded ma.

Thanks for sharing this nice article with us Best of luck ma, steem on 💃

Thank you for visiting my post

Yes understanding a language makes you feel loved. That feeling you had during you nysc, I had that feeling too. You feel accepted in a strange land when you know how to speak their language. Language makes communication very easy. Language I believe is part of a person's culture. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for visiting my post

You are welcome

Truly language plays a very important role in our lives, it connects us to others and unite us. I know a measure of peace and unity will abound in a world with only one language, we're awaiting such time. Thanks for sharing your views with us I wish you success!

Thanks dear friend for visiting my post

It's my pleasure! Steem on

Have you ever gone to a location, that is far away from home, and you finally meet someone who speaks same language with you?

This statement just brought a nostalgic feeling to mind. I remember when I travelled to a strange land..I was always bored and one day while sitting in a bar alone I heard some people talking in my dialect. The joy I felt and I immediately knew I had seen a new family. So yeah, I know how Great it is to meet people who speak your same language.

What we speak is known as the ikwerre dialect, which somehow, sounds like the Igbo Language although with slight differences.

From this I am sure you are from the igbo clan. I read from a friend's post. Well it's the first time I am hearing of ikwerre.

Thank you for presenting such great post. I wish you luck in the contest. You can also engage with me through My link

Thanks dear friend

Language create strong bond and unity, I can imagine how lonely you must have felt at the NYSC because you didn't understand what your roommate were saying but you felt good and happy immediately you saw someone that understand your language. That is the power of speaking same language.

Thank you for visiting my blog

Loading...

You are a Nigerian and your language is Ikwerre. You have very nicely presented the subject of language to us. I also think that the first thing you have to do to promote your language is to really do it for us. You will first be fluent in your language

Thank you for visiting my blog

Thanks for explaining how language works for a layman understanding.
This article really helped me understand about languages.
Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65