Self-Introduction Post


Hope I'm not stepping on any toes by doing this, but I saw @sidekickmatt perform a similar maneuver here, so I figured I'd join the party. The more the merrier, right @steemitadventure?

Anyway, my name is Michael Crisman, aka @modernzorker, and I'm a nerd. I read horror novels, I play video games, I sling spells in my D&D group, I watch terrible movies, and according to my wife, I have entirely too many comics. Since that's the main theme of this particular group, I figured I'd slot myself right in and grab a spot towards the middle so my spine doesn't get all crushed and my corners bent. Greedy? Well, I'm 42 years old, so my corners are already bent and my spine is approaching jelly-hood. Have pity on a nearly senior citizen, eh?

So, I have a bit of a confession to make. I, uh, I like 90's comics. And by 'like', I mean 'read the ever-loving Deathmate out of'. I've been out of the modern-day collecting/reading game for well over fifteen years now, but I came of age in the days when everybody pre-ordered Youngblood #1 on the assumption that they could retire by selling it when they reached my age, when Jim Lee and Jeff Scott Campbell tossed Gen13 into their WildStorm imprint, when Dark Horse opened up their stables to include lots more manga, Everette Hartsoe ushered in the Bad Girl era with Razor, and Ben and Joe Dunn's Antarctic Press published the first issue of a little book called Warrior Nun Areala which, you may have heard, is getting made into a television series or a movie or something at some point.

Yeah.

I'm that dork.

Look, I see your hand hovering over that downvote button, but if I may plead my case before throwing myself upon the mercy of the court of public opinion, I'm well aware that everybody trash-talks the Dark Age of Comics with good reason. I mean, idiots like me are the ones who damn near ran the hobby into the ground by buying into all the gimmicks, cover enhancements, special editions, variants, and, uh, whatever the hell Pogs were.

That said, it's a time and a place that happened, so I think it's important we're able to look back on it and critique it with a keen eye towards deep dives and the sort of minutia-obsessive historical perspective that it (kind of) deserves.

I haven't posted in the #comics tag lately because, first of all, I'm still recovering over the shock of ComicBookDB.com going off-line back in December, and secondly because I got a new computer last year and I'm still trying to teach it how to recognize my old-ass Epson flatbed scanner without having to reinstall the drivers every time I do a reset for a system update. Windows 10, ladies and gentlemen! I'll be darned if I do a comics-themed post without being able to provide my own images and cover scans, but that puts a crimp in the ol' long box if you know what I mean.

That said, if you choose to follow this Community in general, or me in particular, here's a small selection of what I've contributed to the #comics community on Steemit over the past couple of years:

Anyway, I could throw a crap-ton more links in here, but I think you get the point so I'll shut up and let you go ahead and downvote/mute me. Thanks for listening, and hey, once I get this damn scanner figured out, I'll be putting the 'MIC'hael back in 'CoMICs', as they say.

Right? Right? :D

I.... Yeah, I'll see myself out.

Sort:  

Ha great post...I have been out of comics for awhile myself and been dabbling again into em. Been trying a few indie books and now a couple indiegogos etc.

Those 90 gimmicks sure did get over used lol I will have to pick a few more mainstream things up to try. Oddly I love the medium of comics but don’t get attached to too many stories in them.

Thanks for posting!

I'm not into comics but I enjoyed reading the post :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 199 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64