My Experience Working in a 9 to 5 Job.

Hello friends this is your girl Chaira recently I have been thinking about quitting my 9 to 5 with the Idea of surviving doing gigs etc. I am not sure this is a good Idea but everyday that passes I feel more and more uncomfortable.

I started working as a medical assistant 11 years ago, it was exciting to think of an stable job and a sustaining lifestyle, a very nice experience for a person that was working at a Popeyes and previous to that in a Potbelly. I came out of school with the though of taking a break before starting a college career since I felt that I had been in high school for ever, so I took a gap year. I forgot to tell you that at the time, I was in a relationship with my daughters father; I took a trip to the Dominican Republic, we had been in a long distance relationship for ever and then became pregnant, well that's another story.

IMG_20220304_113205_192.jpg

After I became pregnant and had my daughter I had to find a way of getting money, the fastest way was to start a job some way some how, that's what led me into working for Popeyes, thanks to my uncle Wilson that helped me speaking to the store managers. The money I was making at Popeyes was like a drop of water, I think I was just making them a favor to go to work for them. I had to pay for public transportation and just for that plus buying a box of diapers for my daughter the money was gone, I was not happy at all. My cousins had previously been in the medical field and I remember one of my cousins telling me to go to school for medical assisting. I was not happy with the Idea because what I Really wanted to do was technology, that was my passion or something related to Criminal Justice. I did not see my situation get any better at the Popeyes so I decided to go to Medtech to pursue a career in medical assisting that took 11 months to end.
Well that was the story of how I got into my current 9 to 5 job as a medical assistant, now I'll tell you why I feel terrible about working a 9 to 5 job.

  1. No Flexibility:

You either come to work or come to work, that's it, if you have to take some time off to handle some business you might not have that time granted, currently at the Hospital I am in this is a problem, you have to wait until the Manager checks to see if somebody else will not take off at that same time so you can be granted your time off, even if that person is not part of your department. Also Working a 9 to 5 every day is like not having enough time to do the things you really like, spending quality time with you family in the early part of the day can become non existent.

  1. Burnout:

After the C virus showed up the medical field was shaken and caused many hours of over working and concern for hour health. A 9 to 5 job can become an eternity because of the essential worker tag we have in the medical field. I have myself experience the burnout, you don't necessarily need to be a nurse or doctor to feel this way, we currently don't have an stablished nurse in our office, only medical assistants, so all the pressure a nurse would feel, we feel it.

  1. Toxic Environment:

This is my favorite chapter to talk about, let me tell you that working helping others is a beautiful thing but, every thing is not what it seems. Is not like you will be working with a family member or you'll be at a family reunion enjoying a party. The work environment can turn into a depressive environment. there is always that one person that thinks is above everybody else or thinks has more privilege because its been longer in the company and is a butt kisser, Lets call it for what it is, your 9 to 5 can turn into hell if you find one of these ones. Also there is the co-worker that thinks is perfect and everything that he or she do is the best and every body else don't level to their standards. Also, let's not forget about the micro manager, this is very depressing because it makes you feel like a child that don't know how to grab a spoon yet...it's terrible. Also don't forget about the conspiracy theorist that goes to each department/office picking up information about why the company is going to fail or assuming someone's decisions are taken with a bad motive. These things Have made me think about becoming independent and leaving my 9 to 5.

  1. No Appreciation:

Sometimes I wonder if our employers think that because they pay us to accomplish certain tasks, we don't need to be shown appreciation. With all the past points above plus these one you would know if it's time to go. Appreciation is something easy to show, when us employees start feeling like there is no appreciation in our job the problem is deeper, sometimes I wonder if employers are aware of how we feel, or listen to our concerns, worries and opinions, just with those you feel appreciated. Giving us a present every certain time is cool but that won't fix permanently the emotional problems we go through at work.

  1. Disregard for Mental Health:

Mental health should not be a taboo at work but, many people that work in our environment don't have the opportunity to think about their mental health. Sometimes I am too busy to think about my body health just imagine mental health. The pressure that you fill at work is only noticed when you start showing an attitude towards your co-workers etc. Mental health just like anxiety shows up even after work, when you are with your family.

  1. Working until 65 for retirement:

One of the reasons why I would like to to leave my 9:00 to 5:00 is because I can't just think about wasting my life in a job where I will not be able to enjoy my life and I will have to work all the way to 65 before I can go out and experience the world what makes you think job that I would like to give you all my life and time to you when there are so many things out there to think about and to love and to try.

These are the reasons that are making me consider quitting my job because I feel like a 9 to 5:00 it's not a realistic environment, it's not an environment that is not good for you, just because it was established this way don't mean it's right, you're just wasting your life in a job until you are 65 to be able to have independence instead of enjoying the beautiful things in life. It's like slavery never ended.

Sort:  

Amiga por aca te dejo mi telegram contactame @rafaelcmontero

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42