You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparation For Chinese New Year

in Steem SEA6 months ago

So, continuation of the theme of Western holidays. 😊
I don't know if I've come to this conclusion before, but I think this type of routine, even if it only happens once a year, gives meaning to many people's lives. Doing something repetitive, even boring, just because it has to be done means, one way or another, that this life just has to (it must have to) be lived, no matter what, that it has some meaning and that meaning is not extinct or not disintegrated over the centuries. Smart!
These pineapple tarts look very delicious to me by the way. And the tradition of spring cleaning is very useful. It also exists in the Western world as a concept.
In fact, many people wait for Chinese New Year to come because of this interesting animal calendar. However, I believe that this cannot be used and applied in other cultures no matter how much people are fascinated by it.

Sort:  

You are quite right. Normal people would look forward to the New Year celebrations, and especially children and those working abroad. For the children, it's holidays and lots of goodies to eat. For those working abroad, this is the only time they get to go back to see their families.

But I am not a child and I am not working abroad, I am not even normal, I think. lol. I am not the celebrating type. For me it is just a hassle I can do without. It's just another day. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76