Act of Kindness - 18 July 2022

in Steem SEA2 years ago


IMG_2228.JPG
My granddaughter enjoying the children

In November 2009 the United Nation declared 18 July as Nelson Mandela International Day .

A day of action through which the world can honor the legacy of this remarkable icon through community service and volunteering.

The photo I am sharing is one of my granddaughter, Lenique doing her bit on Nelson Mandela Day.

With 18 July 2022 just around the corner I want to encourage Steemians to play their part on this day hence me taking part in this contest.

Why

Why do we celebrate a day in honor of this man?

“We celebrate Nelson Mandela International Day every year to shine light on the legacy of a man who changed the 20th century and helped shape the 21st. This is a moment for all to renew with the values that inspired Nelson Mandela,” according to UNESCO.

How

For 67 years, Nelson Mandela stood up for social justice for all. It is asked to dedicate only 67 minutes of your time on this day by helping in the fight of;

  • Poverty
  • Peace
  • Cultural diversity
  • Reconciliation

What you can do

To be part of the action on this day requires so little.
There are literary thousands of ways in which you can do it;

➤ Lending a helping hand
➤ Care for the elderly
➤ Play with children
➤ Cleaning up your community
➤ Giving out clothes you no longer need
➤ Handing out food parcels
➤Be a volunteer at the soup kitchen
➤ Fund raising

All you need to do is to get involve!

What I love about this day is not only the utmost joy and feeling which you are left with at the end of your chosen task but that it only takes 1 hour and 7 minutes!

For the last eleven years we’ve been actively involved. If I say we it is always my staff, my family or both.

Today I share two of these days with you.

DAY 1 - Our visit to a crèche in the informative settlement.

On this day I took my staff and grandchildren to a crèche in the informative settlement. We planned a well deserve rest for the teacher by holding a tea party for them.

While they were enjoying 67 minutes break we entertained the children by playing with them and handing out treats.

I realized that day that;

1. We all need a break
2. It takes so little to satisfy children

DAY 2 - Our visit to an orphanage and old age home

The second day I want to share with you is our visit to an orphanage and old age home. What made this day special was the fact that we’ve decided to double up.
We were going to do 67 minutes twice.

IMG_8692.JPG

As this day fell on a Saturday I involved the staff the previous day by decorating 300 cupcakes. These were ordered from an NGO who baked them as part of a fund raising project. A double yummy!

On the Saturday our, my family and I, first stop was handing out some cupcakes at a local orphanage, Bethany House . It brought so much delight to see the happy smiles on the children’s faces.
We were also allowed to help with the babies in the nursery with the result that some played and some worked.

Our second stop was the old age home, Moria.

If you think that the smiles on the faces of the children can melt your heart you have seen nothing yet.
Priceless! This is the word best describing the reaction of these grand old people. I could not help to wonder how many of them were taken there never to be visited again.

Steemians, it is through our action that we can change the world. This can be the best Monday you have ever had!

Get involved on Monday 18 July 2022!

25% to @worldsmile

Sort:  

Wow, great content, we've shared and upvoted on @southernafrica

Hi Pat have you considered posting on Hive, the newer and more used hard fork of Steemit?

 2 years ago 

Hi Julian! I've been trying to get hold of you.

I wanted to help you to get better exposure but I can see now that it won't work as you will not be posting as #steemexclusive.

As for Hive, no thank you. I am happy where I am. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Sweet mom
God bless you 🙏

 2 years ago 

Thank you and you also!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89