The Diary Game (MAY 26,2024) A Day at the Palengke: Exploring the Local Market in Los Baños, Laguna

in Steem SEA2 months ago

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

A Day at the Palengke: Exploring the Local Market in Los Baños, Laguna

Hello, everyone! Today, I'm going to be sharing with you my incredible experience at the local public market, or palengke, here in Los Baños, Laguna. With these, I, as a 23-year-old psychology student, find it necessary and liberating at the same time to explore local territories—not only to learn more about our culture but also to know more about other people in our community. Grab a cup of coffee or your favorite drink, and join me as we go through an energetic tour of our palengke!

I started my journey as early as 5 a.m., determined to check out the palengke at its busiest time. The exact moment I got off, the hustle of vendors setting up their stalls, the thick scent of fresh produce in the air, and the lively bargaining between sellers and buyers welcomed me. Exotic colors of fruits and vegetables tantalized my vision. Look at the first pic I took:

Signage at the entrance: "Pamilihang Bayan." The market was already dramatically active, and I could feel the pulse of local life at every turn.

One of the first exciting things I saw at the entrance were the tricycles, each with its own unique decorations. I managed to take a very quick photo of them: It is part of the experience of coming to the market to hire a tricycle, and it is always a good time talking to the drivers, who often have interesting stories to tell.

Exploring the Market Alleys

As I strolled through the market, the view of the items being sold became more and more interesting. From fresh vegetables to colorful fruits, the display was full of various colors and textures. Here is a glimpse into one of the vegetable stalls: I could not resist buying some fresh greens and tomatoes for the salad I later wanted to make. And the people are so friendly and accommodating; the whole experience was really delightful and enjoyable.

The Heartbeat of the Market

One of the more interesting sections of the market was the seafood section. All a bit wet and slippery, but that's all part of the fun! The varieties of fish and seafood available were remarkable. I took a snapshot of a vendor who was skillfully haggling with his customers over some of the fresh catches: Of course, what was rather remarkable was the sight of these vendors at the market, skillfully cleaning and preparing the seafood. That just made me realize how much work is put in to bring us fresh food to the table.

Local Flavors and Finds

The market was not just about fruits and vegetables; there are also stalls showcasing local delights and houseware. I found this stand that sold native snacks and had to buy some to take home. Here is a picture of one of the snack kiosks: These local treats were always nice to keep on hand for those midday cravings, and really brought me back in terms of flavors to what I grew up with.

People and Stories

What makes the palengke extra special are the people. The market is a melting pot of stories and experiences. Here is a tale: each vendor, with decades of standing in the market, and each shopper knows exactly where to get the best deal around. Of course, the prices automatically get set according to a shopper's appearance, as well. One vendor, with whom I had quite a pleasant chat, told me a story about how the place, and its market, had changed over the years but had not lost its importance to the community.

Final Thoughts and Reflections

My journey to a palengke in Los Baños was, therefore, not just a shopping experience; it was an embrace for my soul into local culture. The animated atmosphere and smiling faces of the people and goods really delighted my experience. It's something I highly recommend to everyone who is interested in getting a glimpse of local life. And a great way to support local vendors, to have the freshest products possible, while also basking in rich culture and community vibes that make places like Los Baños unique. And with that, I'm about to sign off this one, folks. Hope you enjoyed my telling as much as I enjoyed experiencing and writing about it. Till next time, keep on exploring and treasuring those small joys in life!

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

 2 months ago 

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem SEA Community. We encourage you to keep posting your quality content and support each other in the community

DescriptionInformation
Verified User
Plagiarism Free
#steemexclusive
Bot Free
BeneficiaryNo
burnsteem25
Status ClubNo
AI Article✅ Original (Human text!)
I invite you to support @pennsif.witness to grow across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44