The Diary Game : Strolling Through The Wet Market In Our City | 20% to @steem.amal

in Steem SEA3 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends!

While I can’t capture the smells and noise through my blog, I thought it might be nice to share a few photographs of what our local wet markets look like here in the Philippines.

Yesterday morning, I purposely strolled through one of the wet markets in our locality. I bought fresh fruits and some for the morning meal. I got Lanzones, Rambutan, ripe Mangoes, Sweet Potatoes, and Puto Maya.

Well wet markets literally have wet floors. But I love going here for fresher quality meat, fruits and vegetables. I am more often here than in malls for my cooking ingredients as aside from there are more goods stalls to choose from, the goods are way cheaper, and that almost everything I need for the days' food supplies can just be found here. It's a kind of a one-stop-shop.

And yes, there are more than a stall for a particular kind of goods, which means more choices for the buyers. With that, our market here has sectioned everything, all the fruit stalls are in one corner, the meat on the other, and more. So, it would just be easy for everyone to find the things they need.

For almost an hour of wet market strolling yesterday, here are what I got.

Lanzones
Rambutan (They just look like Lychee but they're not Lychee.)

Sweet Potatoes
Ripe Mangoes

And as I walked home, I found a food stall that offers Puto Maya and Sikwate, the Filipino foods that are best for our morning's Pamainit. So, I bought Puto Maya to pair with our hot chocolate drinks at home.

Puto Maya is a kind of sticky rice cake that's made of Glutinous rice and sweetened coconut milk. It is usually served wrapped in banana leaves in triangle shapes. While Sikwateis like Cebuano's version of Hot chocolate that's prepared by adding Tablea or cocoa tablets and brown sugar into a pot of boiling water and stirring it until fully dissolved.

My wet market strolling had made me really hungry, and so as I arrived home, I washed and readied everything I bought for the day. And for my breakfast, I got myself this,

* * *

I consider the stroll through our wet market a fabulous experience of smell and sound. I also find it a great place to people watch and think about the struggles and hardships it can take to make a living in this fast-paced and dynamic world.

Well I guess that would be all for now. Thank you so much for droppin' by to read this. See you around!

'Til then,


About the Author

Welcome ! Jenesa is a millennial public school teacher. She's an outdoor enthusiast who loves to travel in groups. She currently resides in Cebu, Philippines. Join her as she explores places, enjoys adventures, and tries new dishes. As always, thank you for your support.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This post has been rewarded by @steemcurator08 with support from the Steem Community Curation Project.

Follow @steemitblog to get info about Steemit and the contest.

Anroja

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17