Act of Kindness || Late Night Feeding of Street Dogs

in Steem SEA3 years ago

IMG_20210602_234512.jpg

ALL LIVES MATTER! Even the smallest living creature is playing a significant role in this big world. All lives are connected somewhere, somehow.

My childhood days are both exciting and exhausting. At a young age I already have responsibilities at home. We used to raised several goats and cows and one of my tasks is to bring them to grasslands to fed. Goats and cows are the only livestock we can raise because they only feed on grass so we do not need to buy commercial feeds that we can't afford. Every single day I lead a group of goats to grassland and retrieve them in the afternoon. I also help my mother fetching water for the cows on the afternoons. I become very close to our goats and cows and forgot that the main purpose of raising them is to sell them. They serve as an investment where we will be selling them if we need money for school fees, school projects, medical expenses and other circumstances. It is a heartbreaking experience when it comes the time to sell them. It is these experiences during my childhood days that I become sensitive when it comes to animal welfare.

One night when I am on my way home from work, I meet a groups of dogs digging the thrash for food. I can tell that they are very hungry maybe because no one is feeding them.

IMG_20210602_234305.jpg

In the Philippines, it is a very common sight on the streets seeing dogs digging thrash for foods. Most of these dogs are the native "Aspin" short for Asong Pinoy (Filipino Dogs). Aspins are lovable dogs, low-maintenance and very resistant to diseases. Thy shed less fur and are known to be a good companions to children. In spite of all of these lovable traits, Aspins are the most unwanted, neglected and abused dogs.

It is almost 12 midnight and most of the stores are closed but I have to do something to give these dogs some food. I remember a 24-hour bakeshop nearby so I rushed in to buy some breads.

IMG_20210609_234407.jpg

I go back to the dogs and slowly trying to give them some breads.

IMG_20210602_234818.jpg

IMG_20210602_234444.jpg

Most of the street dogs are just scared and hungry and I believe they can recognize your intentions. When they are convinced that I just want to give them food, they become confident enough to come closer to me.

IMG_20210602_234553.jpg

I am happy to see them eat and enjoy the bread.

IMG_20210602_235038.jpg

Feeding these street dogs is the least that I can do. But if we cannot feed them, at least just don't hurt them.

Best regard to @steem.amal, @steem.sea, @steemseacurator, @anroja, @nazarul and @el-nailul. Thank you for the better life program.
Always grateful for the endless support of steemcurator01 of this block chain.

Let us respect all that is living!

Yours Truly,

footer.png

author.jpg

#betterlife #actofkindness #philippines #steem-exclusive #steemsea #steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16