The Ultimate dCity Tutorial: Making Your First Purchase To Advanced Trading Strategies & 2 Months Of Gameplay Analysis

in INVEN Gaming4 years ago

dCity is one heck of a beautiful investment opportunity to play a fun resource management game and earn a some great HIVE pegged passive income for yourself. I joined the game soon after it released and for the last 2 months I've been tracking my gameplay to write a deep dive into dCity game. Funny thing is dCity is now having a "dCity Beginner Tutorial Contest". Timign couldn't be any better and I'm going to take you from noob to a pro within the span of this publication. Buckle Up!

What You're Going To Learn In This Guide

  1. How to get started
  2. Basic rules of the game
  3. Tips & Tricks for best results
  4. How to earn crypto from dCity
  5. Trading opportunities with dCity
  6. Last 2 months of my gameplay analyzed

My Credentials - Why Listen To Me?

Rank.png

dCity is a resource/asset management game. You can buy cards for 4 HIVE each. 50% from those card sales and post rewards go to STEEM+HIVE pool. 1.5% of that is distributed everyday to the Top 200 players. I've been earning those sweet crypto payouts for some time. But that's the lower side of my earnings. When you play the game SIM tokens will be your big income earner.

1. Let's Get Started

2. Basic Rules You Need To Know

The cards have 4 attributes. You could either buy them, get them in an auction or use the internal market. There are 2 reward pools. One is for Top 200 players that pay you STEEM + HIVE. the other is called SIM. This one is a VERY special Hive-Engine token. You'll see why.

Buying Cards From dCity

Buying.png

  • Go to the upper right hand corner and click on "Buy"
  • You can only buy 10 cards at a time
  • The card you get is random
  • More valuable cards are hard to get
  • Because of this buy feature 800 SIM is Pegged to 4 HIVE

Use The Market For Specific Cards

Market.png

  • If you don't like the random gains you can use the market
  • There are several currencies you can use such as SWAP.HIVE, SIM & BEER
  • This is the place to see how valuable your card collection is
  • Use the search bar on top to find the specific cards

Join The Auction For Fun & great Deals

Auction.png

  • Auction is the most engaging aspect of the game
  • It can end anywhere from 40 hours to 72 hours
  • Only SIM bids are accepted
  • Make sure not to bid above market value of the card

Card Attributes

Basic Attributes.png

3. Do These For best Results

Popularity: More the merrier. You'll be getting free cards (citizens not buildings) every 2 hours. Currently I have 9% chance.

Crime Rate: Beware of this. You might loose more than a day's income if you got robbed. It's calculated based on number of people that live in your city and number of homeless and immigrants. Police Station, Gym and Cinema reduce crime rate.

Garbage Dump: Great card if you have 10+ different cards. If not it'll wreck your popularity. Great for later game. Not great when starting out

Workers Vs Population: It's better to have more workers needed for your buildings than have excessive populations driving up crime rate. You'll be getting more population over time anyways.

SIM Trading: Buy whenever you can get SIM for less than 0.005 HIVE per token

BEER Fest: It's going to cost you $0.35 - $0.40 USD based on current BEER price. Could be a great move early on to build your city. When you are somewhat big,BEER fest becomes less appealing IMHO.

BEER Fest.png

4. How To Earn Crypto From dCity

SIM Earnings.png

Just keep playing the game well guys! That alone will make daily passive income. You can easily trade these for real crypto and use it for anything you like in a matter of minutes. If you've ever done a bank transfer, compare the experience 😊😂😂

Top Players Make Bank

Top Players.png

Buy Cards & Sell For Instant ROI (When Worth Over 4 HIVE/800 SIM)

The cheapest police station cost 1500 SIM (87.5% profit) or 5.5 SWAP.HIVE (26.25%). If you think you got a rare card and want to cash in on profits...... You can! It's almost like playing a Dice game on blockchain. The difference is that you never loose all of your money. If your card is worth less than 4 HIVE/800 SIM on market, you could still build your city with it and earn passive income in SIM, STEEM, HIVE

5. Trading Opportunities With dCity

This is a beginners guide. I'm not a veteran pro trader guy anyways. So let's stick to the most basic and profitable trading strategy that anyone can pull off. But 1st you need to be on https://hive-engine.com You can login with the same Keychain extension used for dCity.

HiveEngine.png

  • When that number is below 0.005 you are buying SIM cheaper/at discount
  • When that number is above 0.005 you can sell your SIM as it's getting overvalued

That's all you need to know. Even a child could pull of this strategy. There's nothing to worry about. Let's check out how I've done so far in the recent times.

6. Last 2 Months of My Gameplay Analyzed

I've been collecting these screenshots over the last 2 months to write about the game. First let's try the purchases that cost me 4 STEEM per card:






That's 8 cards gained from 32 STEEM expense. I haven't spent HIVE after we transitioned to the new chain. Let's take a look at what we got:

  • Restaurant
  • Garbage Dump
  • Police Station
  • Apartment
  • Cinema
  • 2 Basic Homes
  • Airport

Let's check the lowers market prices (HIVE) for these in order

  • 5.200 Hive
  • 7.000 Hive
  • 5.500 Hive
  • 6.500 Hive
  • 6.950 Hive
  • 1.490 Hive X 2
  • 8.150 Hive
    Total value = 40.790 Hive

Even if I paid Hive, I'd be at 27.4% gains. But I've trades almost 2 times STEEM. Thanks to swapping to HIVE blockchain my returns are 154.9% (I took 1 STEEM = 0.5 HIVE)

Check My Free Money!

Do you think I chased out my SIM earnings? Nah! I call it playing with house money. All my SIM went back into my city. This is how it went. There's 6 cards and they would have cost me 24 HIVE if it wasn't for my "Re-Investing"






Let's count cards:

  • 2 Basic Homes
  • 2 Luxury Homes
  • 2 Weed Dispensaries

Let's count market prices:

  • 1.490 Hive X 2
  • 1.990 Hive X 2
  • 5.400 Hive X 2
    Total value = 17.76 Hive

I would have lost 26% if I had paid HIVE to buy these cards directly from dCity. but these were just "Re-Investing" my income from playing the game.

That's How You Play dCity Like A Pro

I'm not saying I'm the best player ou there. But I've done well. You started from installing the Keychain and visiting https://dcity.io Now I've shown you the ropes from making your 1st purchase to making money off of a nifty little video game and earning passive income as well as instant ROI.

I like to think that I've covered everything about dCity from the beginning to end. But if you think I've missed any, please don't be afraid to add them in the comments.

Results of My dCity poll

Before I start writing, I asked the dpoll community what they'd like to learn most in a guide. I hope this guide covers all the stuff you guys were interested in.

dpoll results.png

Thank You For Sticking To The End - Have A Nice Day!

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!
If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Easily the single best article I have seen on dCity. You have token some real effort and covered the ground from the boring basics to the interesting parts. The detailed guide was the best part and I have voted for the poll now. I have written some content on dCity some time ago. But this is simply the most extensive take.

Happy Gaming!

This post has been rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project. steemcurator02(#communitycuration02)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97