[Nintendo Classics Reviews] Solomon's Key

in INVEN Gaming4 years ago

So while I was trying Nintendo Online's NES classics I stumbled upon this game which I never heard about before but turned out quite fun: Solomon's Key.

NintendoSwitchNESClassicsSolomonsKey.jpg

It's a puzzle platformer with many levels. Each level contains a key and a door at different positions of the room. The goal is to use Solomon's ability to create and destroy blocks to get the key to open the door and go inside after that.

The main thing you'd do with Solomon is to create a block and walk or jump over it to get closer to the goal. The blocks you create and the ones found in the level from the start are identical, but destroying some of the level based blocks might give you power-ups and collectibles.

20200623154248008F655652CF5441D7471D936F3F07324D.jpg

Life in Solomon's Key is always decreasing, and you lose when it reaches zero which sets a time limit of 100 seconds of each level unless you get a life-boosting item. I like the small change of the background music when the life becomes too low.

There are a bunch of power-ups and collectibles. Solomon can get fire balls he can throw. Fire attack is very powerful but they're consumable items you don't have any at the start. They must be collected then used sparingly.

20200624230641008F655652CF5441D7471D936F3F07324D.jpg

Something worth noting is that Solomon's Key is the first game I used Nintendo Online's Save States feature extensively on my Switch. I found that I lose a lot of unnecessary time each time I lose and have to restart from level 1.

I liked how there are new enemies/mechanics on each level. Experimenting on new enemies caused my loss more than once so I decided on using Save States to save time and have fun trying things that would most likely cost Solomon's his life.

20200624215523008F655652CF5441D7471D936F3F07324D.jpg

My impression of this game is that it's both fun and challenging. I'm surprised I never heard about it. I think the game's mechanics are almost perfected here and it's definitely one of my favorite NES games in the available collection.

Solomon's Key is another game I wouldn't have tried if not for Nintendo's Online NES service, and I'm glad to get to know this game. A pleasant surprise indeed.

What do you think?


First image uses the game's box art taken from here. All the other images are screenshots taken by me.
Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by [@roadofrich] with support from the Steem Community Curation Project

The INVEN Gaming community is run by the STEEM blockchain Witness @roadofrich team.

Vote for Road of Rich witness

If you want to convert STEEM to USDT, BTC, TRX, try use RFDAX.
https://steemscan.com/convert

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66982.11
ETH 2591.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67