ART EXPLOSION WEEK 80: Theme SPIRIT ANIMAL. My entry.

in Qurator4 years ago (edited)

Hello!
Today I want to participate in one of my favorite incentive contests - ART EXPLOSION, hosted by @juliakponsford.

Now week 80 of this contest is already underway. The last time I participated in week 48 ... I missed a lot)))
So this week's theme is animal spirit.
In the main characters of the art, I chose the image of an owl. I think this animal is endowed with spirit and something mystical is present in it.
Screenshot_20200110_235652.jpg

See how it looks at you? Strict and attentive, like a very serious teacher.

After the contest, I will draw a tasty mouse or snake for her so that the owl becomes kinder and more affectionate. In the meantime, let it be so mysterious.
So, here is my full size entry:
IMG_20200110_235005.jpg

The background glitters a little ... sorry, I could not wait. until i will dry))

And now the process of how the spirit of an owl was created)

It all started with a pencil drawing. The pencil was not there, so I draw with a liner.
IMG_20200110_235449.jpg

IMG_20200110_235415.jpg

Next, I took out my favorite watercolor. I really wanted to draw an owl with markers, but still, the watercolor technique suits the task of the contest better.
IMG_20200110_235337.jpg

I tried in what color scheme to paint an owl and background
IMG_20200110_235306.jpg

.. and how to add more mysticism to the work ....
IMG_20200110_235149.jpg

And then - EYES!
In each work, I consider the eyes - the main object. I try to draw them right away in order to already understand who I'm dealing with :))) As long as the object has no eyes, it's just paper. When the eyes appear, I already draw alive object.
IMG_20200110_235053.jpg

A few details ... streaks, spray .. and the picture is ready)
IMG_20200110_234921.jpg

IMG_20200110_235005.jpg

I hope you like it!




PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I love owls! (partly because I just like raptors in general)

I guess it does look a bit like a strict teacher XD I always think they just look very intense and attentive.

Love how you cropped the thumbnail too, good enough to be a piece on its own :)

Thanks!
When I was little, I tried to sleep early at night. Because I was sure that an owl flies in at night and looks angrily at everyone who is still awake. :))

That is too cute XD

Great looking painting, and I'm not just saying that because it resembles me at 9:05am on a Monday morning...Lol.

Hahaha))) yes, yes, on Monday morning, very many people look mystical. Especially those who have been very active Sunday )))

Mystical is a nice way of describing my look and attitude come Monday morning at work. I like it. 🤣

Congratulations @prostosun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I love his, the colors are so loose and flowy :)

I am glad that you liked it and that I took the time to participate in the contest! I love the creative themes of your contest!

I just missed the payout for the post, so won't vote on it, but this is a great piece! Owls are incredible creatures. They look blocky and cludgy, but are very nimble and great hunters. Awesome piece!

Too late to vote, but I can still tip!

!tip 0.2

Thank you:) a pleasant reading before I go to sleep)) Have a good evening :))

🎁 Hi @prostosun! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @wwwiebe!

@wwwiebe wrote lately about: Space Force 3: The Characters Feel free to follow @wwwiebe if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79