You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: XLookup almost has everything I need

in Excel For All5 years ago

Thats really impressive. I like how the code can return an array. So I have a big confession, I don't know VBA. I do know DAX and a bit of M, which are new languages used in Excel. but I never learned VBA.

Now following, I know I will learn some neat tricks from you :-)

Sort:  

Honestly the best way to learn VBA is to record some macros and review how Excel codes the actions, since VBA is an Object-oriented, event-based language. The way I build Excel subs is somewhat the same everytime; start with the process you want to automate and the end-goal and have VBA conduct the necessary actions to complete that action: "Take this data and put it here", "Count this column or number of rows and return this value".

Learning the procedure conventions and best-practices is the main topic to learn and you will pick up the different objects and events as you get more experience. I've got some great VBA examples on my site if you'd like to check them out.

But I'm the opposite, I'm beginning to learn DAX and M!

DAX and M rock. I don't know VBA ( and want to find the time to learn it) but I do know DAX and a little M.
M and power query can remove the need for many VBA automation tasks, but it can not do everything VBA can do

In that case, it’s time for some basic VBA exercises.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50