A Sad Day of the whole world |26.12.2004|battle month|03

in Sri Lanka-ශ්‍රී ලංකා3 years ago (edited)
Hello Everyone,

I was good remember; I was cycling with my friends on that day. I think I was 7 years old then. Simultaneously my mom said, “Quickly come and get ready to go to Kandy”. So, I came home and I was supporting my mom to ready our clothes. At that time my dad was not at home. But after the few time, He came to home for pick me and mom. Then we went to Kandy by our vehicle. Dad was driving our vehicle fastely. But I don’t know why we were going to kandy? So, I asked from my mom, why we were going to Kandy? She told me came a tsunami to sri lanka. But I didn’t know what was the tsunami on that time? So, I thought to write about that amazing day.

What is the ‘’Tsunami”?

images (2).jpg

Source

Tsunami is a high or long wave caused by an earthquake or other disturbance under the sea. Tsunami is a japan word. The Indian ocean earthquake occurred in west coast of northern Sumatra at 07.58am in local time. Magnitude of that earthquake was 9.1-9.3Mw. So, there was a 100ft sea wave. That wave was affected 14 countries in the world and 227,898 people dead in that tsunami. Also, it was strongly affected some countries. Such as; Indonesia, Srilanka, India, Thailand…Etc.

330px-2004_Indian_Ocean_earthquake_-_affected_countries.png
Source

Anyway, I remembered strongly affected to southern province in our country. And also, Matara - Colombo train was faced that huge wave at Peraliya. That was a first srilanka tsunami-Rail disaster.

z_p05-Saving-1.jpg

Source

Therefore, so many people dead in the train. And also, Many people who lived around the sea died. The disaster shocked millions of people around the world and brought relief to the affected people. Finally, I hope that such a tragedy will not happen again.

z_P53-Bright.jpg

Source

Thanks for going through my article. Have a nice day and stay safely my dear friends!!!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This is the biggest natural disaster that I have seen in my lifetime. Also we had experienced such a natural disaster for the first time and we would have reduced such damages if we had previous experience in this regard. I wish this may not happen again in my world.

 3 years ago 

''we would have reduced such damages if we had previous experience in this regard'' I also agree this statement @dawngrapher

 3 years ago (edited)

Me and my cousins were about to go to Galle beach in the morning on that day. Luckily we saved ourselves as we all fell asleep till noon. So I'll never forget that day.

Tsunami is a japan word.

#slbmc
Yeah it means 'strong waves'.

 3 years ago 

Ahhh🙄 I think it's ur luck. Also my uncle was die from tsunami

 3 years ago 

Your post has been accepted. Thank you for the participation. Stay active.
Logopit_1619384472218-1.png
Logopit_1619465584868.jpg

Still it is unthinkable that the waves that bring tears will swallow up those helpless souls. 😥

 3 years ago 

Yes, it is still a sad memory😭😭

 3 years ago 

image.png

 3 years ago 

I think it was the biggest natural disaster that the Sri Lankans have ever experienced. Hope no one will going to face such a disaster, not in Sri Lanka but also in the whole world.

You have been upvoted by randulakoralage, a Country Representative from Sri Lanka. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit

Hi, @ransika,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy.
Or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn a portion of the curation rewards!

 3 years ago 

you are welcome @ecosynthesizer

This is the biggest natural disaster I have ever seen in my life. Many lives were lost. I believe this kind of natural disaster will never happen again.

 3 years ago 

Oh, I remembered that day. I was in grade 4. We were about to go to the beach, but however, we couldn't. Also, my mom was planning to go to town and she couldn't as she was cleaning the house. Anyway, our hometown (Galle) had damaged and a lot of people died from the tsunami.
I wish never come tsunami again.

#slbmc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37