Old is Gold🖤

in Sri Lanka-ශ්‍රී ලංකා3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Today I’m going to write about one of the weird feelings we all have felt once.

Have you ever felt to go back to your childhood? Go back to the past and live the life once we had. Do you always love to hear old music, do you always like to watch old photographs and recall your memories? Do you always say to yourself I missed the good old days?😌

This is Nostalgia. It can describe as a psychopathological condition. As history says in old times this was recognized as a disease. In the late 17s,' a medical student named Johannes Hofer recognize a weird illness among Swiss soldiers who are servicing abroad. He noticed that without any physical disorder most soldiers were hospitalized.

wwi-a-sister-tending-wounded-british-soldiers-at-an-army-hospital-near-the-front-in-france-2A3TN8X.jpg
Source
Their main symptoms were insomnia, fatigue, and irregular heartbeat. So most of the soldiers were discharged and sent back to their homes. Once they returned their home they recovered in less than a week. So Hofer discovered that this is not a physical disorder but a mental yearning to go back to their homelands. So he named this disease as Nostalgia. It is a Greek word that can be further described as nostoc – homecoming and algos – pain or sickness. Swiss commanders prohibited singing traditional Swiss songs to soldiers which always remind the memories of their motherland.

So the definition of this homecoming sickness was changed in the late 19s'.In the late 19’s psychologists use this word as a synonym for depression.

1440_teen_depression_reward_system_feat-1030x580.jpg
Source

But some of the patients denied it and they told that they didn’t feel any pain or sorrow. But sometimes it made them strong and sometimes when they recall their memories it made them happy. So now this word has a wide meaning. It can be described as longing into the past or the inability of letting go of childhood.

Nostalgia is a weird feeling. It can give us both happiness and sorrow in one moment. As an example, when you recall your memories you feel happy about your past. Moments you lived. But suddenly you feel pain and fear that you can’t feel them anymore. But to me, nostalgia is a fabulous feeling. I am a pretty much nostalgic person. But it doesn’t make me weak. It makes me happy. I love to watch old cartoons that I watched in my childhood ❤️. It reminds me of some of the people who lived with me in past but not in present.It reminds me of how happy I was as a child.

I think most of us have this feeling more or less in our brains. This can be the reason why people love to buy old cars and motorcycles and watch old teledramas again and again.

maxresdefault.jpg
Source

This can be the reason that we cannot forget about our first love. This can be why even now you remembered about your first kiss.hahaha.lol.🤭🤭

So think for a moment, are you a nostalgic person or not? How much it affects you? Is it bad or good for you? Comment below how you felt about it.

For me..yeah Old is Gold❤️😌

shutterstock_1186182589.jpg
Source

Sort:  

Interesting post nangi♥️
Um surely a nostalgic person who loves to memorize things from past. But it makes me both happy and sad cuz when reminding some things grief , sadness makes me cry . But I love to roam around memories in past.

Everything happens in life for a reason. we all have both good and bad memories. when you recall some memories, yeah it will hurt you. but all of those memories tell you how you changed into the person that you are today. don't let those sad memories make you cry anymore. we can't change the past. we can only change the way we look at those memories 😌. Isn’t it?@kalz11

For sure nangi😘

 3 years ago 

I also am a kind of this person and still fell for cartoons that i've enjoyed in my past time. Memories of past is a magic for me to rejoice all the time. Worth reading Ruvi

Thanks pasi❤️

Interesting article ruwi ❤ I am also a person who is immersed in such thoughts. I love to recall my good old days 🤗

Thank you @hash96❤️

Recalling past memories actually make me happy and I'm sure it will. Some are not good even to memorize but still it made me strong.. nice post ruwii ❤❤

Recalling your memories was so funny. especially those old FB chats.😂😂”That’s Why”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53