Tiger Beetle on the prowl

The aptly named Tiger Beetle family are fleet-footed hunters that can be found in many different places here in the US. It's hard not to love their beautiful iridescent colors but often they move so quickly all you see is the bright green flash as they hunt for their next meal. With their big eyes and sharp scissor-like jaws they can quickly dispatch any prey they may find making them a truly fearful hunter despite their diminutive size.
Probably the only reason I was able to get a somewhat clear close up of this Punctured Tiger Beetle (Cicindela punctulata) was that I had rescued it from my rain barrel (it didn't take it long to recover and quickly scurry away).
Tiger Beetle.jpg
I hope you enjoyed my little post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84