Eid Al Fitr: My Religious Festival

in Steem Lifestyle3 years ago

Eid day is a day of celebration for all muslims. We get together to celebrate the mark of a new year from the same time the previous to this year. It’s actually a little more than just the celebration of a new year as every EID is a celebration for something. It is one of the only times muslims gather in the biggest congregations to pray. There are two EIDs every year. Eid al fitr and Eid al Adha. The Eid I am going to be telling you about is Eid al Fitr. It is celebrated to mark the end of Ramadan, our 30days fasting. I will be adding Pictures from different Eid celebrations over the years so I’ll be younger in a few of them😅.

IMG_1691.JPG

On Eid days, I wake up feeling especially happy to be alive to see another year and most importantly to celebrate with friends and family at the Eid grounds. As expected, I wake up hearing noises from women in the compound cooking. Just like Christmas, it is a muslim tradition to cook and share with neighbors on eid day. The women of the house wake up the earliest to start cooking and making Eid preparations.

IMG_9106.JPG

I brush my teeth and come out to join my dad and brothers. My dad has this charity thing he does on the morning of every Eid where he shares grains to the poor, old and aged in the community. So after brushing my teeth, I meet my brothers in front of his room for us to start the sharing. There is maize in the sack over there and more in the room. We fetch the maize into the basin and send them over to our neighbors
This is us about to start sharing

IMG_9103.JPG

Me sending grains to a neighbor

IMG_9100.JPG

When we’re done with the sharing, we start cleaning outside the house. It is encouraged not just to cleanse yourself but your surroundings on Eid day. In my family this is what the men do on the early morning of eid whiles the women cook. We come back in to bath and get ready to go to the eid grounds. You’re probably wondering why I didn’t mention eating after I woke up right? Well that’s because we fast on the eid day and break when we come from the eid grounds.
My younger brothers and I cleaning outside the house

IMG_E9111.JPG

After we take our baths and perform ablution we take a picture taking detour. Yh right. This is probably one of the best looks you’ll have all year because we dress in the best of our cloths. Besides, my sister won’t have it and let’s just say I do what she wants.
This was from Eid Adha last year before we went to the Eid grounds

PicsArt_05-24-11.35.55.jpg

We all leave for the Eid grounds to observe the Eid prayer. The Eid prayer is normally 2 rakats and takes close to 20 minutes if you get there exactly when the prayer itself starts. If you come early there’s normally a sermon before the prayer. This takes close to 30 minutes.

After the prayer, we take another picture taking detour but this time with neighbours, friends and family. If you don’t, what are you going to be posting later when everyone is posting on Facebook? This year’s Eid was so interesting because a lot of my friends posted about their entire Eid day or important details of it on steemit as a diary game instead of just pictures like we always do on Facebook.
My friends and I on the Eid grounds after the Eid prayer a few days ago

IMG_1691.JPG

IMG_1700.JPG

IMG_1703.JPG

My family and I at home just after Eid al fitr prayer last year

20190811_085835.jpg

20190811_090639.jpg

From the Eid grounds, we go back home to eat and the food sharing and visits begin. Neighbours bring food to each other and friends and family visit each other. My sisters and I do this visit thing every year since my mother passed where we go round to visit all her closest friends, family and relatives. We take pictures with them and we go back home.

exif_temp_image 27.JPG

PicsArt_05-24-10.47.01.jpg

PicsArt_05-24-11.30.35.jpg

By this time I am normally very tired and takes a nap until in the afternoon around 2 when my friends come around my place. We chat until around 4 and everybody goes back home.
For me on the evening of Eid, I mostly just treat myself to a tasty meal and an awesome movie time.

IMG_8829.JPG

I hope you had a good eid al fitr. THANKS FOR READING❤

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Great entry..

Tnx... I like giving a little bit of details

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62059.45
ETH 2433.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63