🥎 LIVE From Centre Court: ATP/WTA Rothesay International Eastbourne

in WOX Sports2 years ago (edited)

20:30 That’s all folks

I hope enjoyed today’s coverage here in Eastbourne


20:30 Serena and Her Mate beat The Other 2 2-6, 6-3, 13-11

C93ABD38-A0F3-4A46-82BE-CDFC6C37B444.jpeg

When it came to the player introductions and Serena Williams, it was something to behold. Other players had been introduced with accolades such as “did alright at Queens last week” or won “some tournament in the Netherlands that nobody knows about”. Serena’s 23 Singles Grand Slams and 14 Doubles Grand Slams is a reminder that I was in the presence of greatness. But having watched Serena at her peak, on her way to winning one of those 37 Grand Slams, at the beginning of this match, this certainly wasn’t the same player. The aggression and the grunting that we were so accustomed to was absent, as was the intimidating presence that epitomised her game.

Once Serena had dusted off the cobwebs after a year off though, she played well and the aggression returned during the 2nd set. A flashback to her prime where she’d fight back like a wounded animal. The ace she served to clinch the 2nd set smacked of Serena of old.

It turns out that doubles is a first to 10 tie break in the final set which set us up for an exciting finish. Probably suiting Serena quite nicely. At 9-8, Serena served for the match and in a dramatic rally, she played it too long for 9-9 and then an unreturnable serve for 10-9. In an exciting end to the match, Serena and her mate went in to win the decisive set 13-11.

I also ended up talking to the old woman next to me. She’d travelled all the way from Bradford for the week.

What a wonderful day of tennis.

Separator-yellow.png

18:40 D. Evans beat A. Mannarino 6-4, 6-3

27FDA3FD-91B1-4C87-8CD7-7F21D5AED111.jpeg

As the players became more familiar with each other’s serves, the 2nd set saw a lot more balls in play and some nice rallies. The quality remained high with barely an unforced error in sight, each player being made to win the point rather than it being gifted to them.

At this point, an old woman with a really loud clap had moved next to me. I think she wanted to talk to me but I determinedly avoided eye contact, hoping she’d find a different seat.

With the 1st break point of the set, it was a bad time for Mannarino to serve up a double fault. Evans then had the opportunity to serve for the match, which Mannarino nearly ruined - missing his opportunity to break back.

A good day for the Brits and another match to come - the legend, Serena Williams (with a few other people playing doubles).

Separator-yellow.png

17:50 1st Set Evans, 6-4

FF3307A0-6876-4118-A8BA-F415EE67E4A3.jpeg

With very few service points dropped, the 1st set was very much a masterclass on how to control a point. The difference in quality between these 2 players and those that had preceded them was significant and a break of serve would seemed unlikely. Or so I thought. With Evans at 5-4 up and receiving serve, he started to hit some winners and had 3 break points to win the set, succeeding with his 2nd attempt.

Separator-yellow.png

17:00 J. Ostapenko beat A Tomljanovic 6-4, 6-4

3EC59606-71C0-462A-81B4-ED66A997EEB9.jpeg

After 2 long matches, many in the stands decided to have a break for this one. My memory of Ostapenko is that she’s a brute and she demonstrated this from the outset. She puts absolutely everything into each shot and finesse isn’t a word you could associate with her style of play. When she hits a ball, it stays hit.

Tomljanovic is an Australian player that I’ve never seen before and she put in a good performance. But it’s always difficult against somebody who tries to smash a winner with every shot and hits more than she misses. It made for good viewing, especially with the sun shining and a gentle breeze.

Separator-yellow.png

15:30 K. Boulter beat K. Pliskova 1-6, 6-4, 6-4

21724A02-C099-4116-8D20-1839CDF70345.jpeg

I’ve certainly got value for money so far with both matches going to 3 sets.

Going into the final set, I felt Pliskova had to be the favourite having worked Boulter so hard. But Pliskova’s 1st service game saw her serve 4 double faults and lose to love.

The mistakes kept on coming for Pliskova and Boulter sensed that this was a match she could win. Which is exactly what she did, winning the final set 6-4. An unexpected and perhaps surprising outcome.

Separator-yellow.png

14:40 Pliskova 6-1, 4-6 Boulter

21755D3E-408F-42F4-8302-EE9071A59084.jpeg

I can’t decide if the 1st set was as one-sided as the score suggests. At times, it felt like Pliskova hardly moved, neatly placing her shots out of Boulter’s reach. But only once Boulter was 40-0 or 40-15 ahead. The difference between them felt significant and it felt like a match that would be over quickly.

The 2nd set was much closer although Boulter still seemed to be working the harder of the 2 players. Boulter missed countless Game points but this was probably down to Pliskova’s ability to win important points.

I also learned that the guy next to me had a seagull nest on his roof so we had a nice chat about those bastard birds squawking at 4am.

Boulter eventually broke serve and served for the set at 5-3. The game and set was Boulter’s for the taking, she played some great shots which were accompanied by some absolute howlers and double faults at crucial moments. She couldn’t grind it out, losing serve.

But Boulter’s not done yet, breaking serve again to win the 2nd set 6-4.

Separator-yellow.png

13:10 R. Peniston beat H. Rune 4-6, 7-6, 6-1

470572A1-3DC2-4C55-81E6-276B458D1499.jpeg

At the beginning of the final set, Peniston finally got his break points which he took at the first time of asking. This resulted in an amusing Rune tantrum and an unsportsmanlike conduct warning. It was very funny and I don’t think his racket will be much use any more.

But as is so often the way, Rune broke straight back, perhaps realising that he wasn’t going to cruise into the 2nd round.

Peniston broke again though, this time to love and he was playing some great tennis. Luck was also on his side as every net ricochet and mishit fell in his favour.

Another break of serve and Peniston was serving for the match at 5-1. He held his nerve and served out for a deserved victory.

A thoroughly enjoyable start to the day with another British underdog, Katie Boulter, up next against former world No. 1, Karolina Pliskova.

Separator-yellow.png

12:45 2nd Set Peniston, 7-6

F5FC5D8C-A17F-4556-86DE-3A25FE17359E.jpeg

The 2nd set appeared to have a lot more unforced errors from both players and it was clear to me that Peniston was going for a lot more shots than the previous set. This made for great viewing and if a couple more had come off early in the set, he could’ve found himself a break up.

Not enough went in to break serve though but Rune was certainly under more pressure than in the 1st set. Neither player managing to force a break point so it was a question of whether Peniston’s risk taking would pay off in the tie break.

The intensity went up a level and Peniston’s bravery paid off, winning the tie break 7-5. If he continues to play as bravely in the decisive set, he’s got a real chance.

Separator-yellow.png

11:45 1st Set Rune, 6-4

4452B574-7EE2-42CC-B639-5996F1E9A94D.jpeg

With both players looking comfortable on serve, it’s always funny how the better players find a little more towards the end of a set.

Neither player had a break point until Peniston was serving at 4-5 and Rune needed just the single opportunity. Taking the first set fairly comfortably.

Not much in the way of rallies but a few good passing shots along the way.

Separator-yellow.png

11:00 Order Of Play

78446D97-4768-4B76-8499-429874E4B7B7.jpeg

I have arrived and it looks like I’m in for a treat. I already knew about the men’s matches and am looking forward to seeing Dan Evans and the women’s matches look fantastic too. I’ve seen Ostapenko a couple of times and she’s an absolute brute of a player. I might even be a lucky charm for her having seen her win both times.

It’s nice to see Serena’s return too, hopefully she’ll be on good form.

Separator-yellow.png

The Night Before

20210624 - 05.JPG

It was nearly 12 months ago that I attended the COVID restricted ATP/WTA Tennis in Eastbourne and I'm pleased to be going again this year. This time however, there will be a full crowd and once again, I'll be taking my seat on Centre Court (in the upper left of the photo above, an aisle seat (woo hoo!) just below the commentary boxes.

Last year I got to see some great matches in the Quarter Finals and this year, I'm going earlier in the week and seeing some 1st Round matches. Currently confirmed are:

Ryan Peniston (GBR) vs. Holger Rune (Den)

Dan Evans (GBR) vs. Adrian Mannarino (FRA)

The 2nd match is one that I'm particularly looking forward to having wanted to see Dan Evans play back in 2017. Unfortunately, he got suspended for a year for taking cocaine so his place in the matchday programme was perhaps premature.

YESO3499.jpg

That was also the year that it rained all day for me so I got to see about 3 points between Novak Djokovic and Vasek Pospisil. Hopefully the weather will be kinder to me tomorrow...

image.png

More importantly though, in what's got to be a Steemit 1st - you can follow my day LIVE by revising this post. I'll provide regular updates throughout the day (with the most recent content appearing at the top) and you can feel like you're in the stands with me. I'm going on my own so I'll be grateful for the company 😆

I look forward to sharing the experience with you.

Separator-yellow.png

All Photos are my own
Footer-Bottom.png

Sort:  

For a while I had huge interest in playing long tennis. Well I don’t know when I stopped dreaming about that one 😂.

Maybe I lost interest in it after I dislocated my arm twice in the space of 2 years.

Because of this is hardly do this that can put me in danger cause I don’t wanna go through the experience once again😂.

But I really liked Serena Williams back then and now I like Djokovic a lot too. I will be following this one surely 😌☺️.

Maybe I lost interest in it after I dislocated my arm twice in the space of 2 years.

That probably contributed to the decision 😅

I think that Serena Williams will be the 3rd match that I get to see today - in the Womens Doubles so stay tuned 😉

stay tuned 😉

I will be waiting for your updates. ☺️

“Streaming” live now. 2 games in, 2 British underdogs victorious 💪🏻

You see to always love it when underdogs win right 😂

Ha ha, yeah. Especially when they’re British 🥳

Oh, you're a tennis fan too huh? Great 👍.

Yep 😊 I often prefer watching Tennis to Football - especially around the time that they introduced VAR 🤣

Oh really.. that's nice 😂
I can't really tell whether VAR came to help or make the games less fun. Well, sometimes it's fun when it goes against your opponent🙂🙂😆😆😆.

I wanted to ask, are you not interested in the country representative thing, or your country doesn't need that? 😄 do you even have a community like that??

I am curious to see how the experiment develops :-)

🙂 Hopefully Steemit works for me today 🤞

So many games in one day. And you can watch them all live?
But it must be a bit exhausting to sit there all day.
Are the doubles still on?

I got 5 matches, 2 ATP, 2 WTA and the WTA doubles - some great tennis. The time flew by today - the first match was 2 hours and it didn’t feel like that at all.

Home now 🙂 It was a great day although writing updates with photos on a mobile gun was pretty tough going!

That sounds like a good day. :-)

although writing updates with photos on a mobile gun was pretty tough going!

I can understand that very well. I don't like typing (longer) comments on my mobile phone either.
But there is nothing else to do if you want to report live ;-)

But there is nothing else to do if you want to report live ;-)

Ha ha, well, there were a few people sat with laptops - probably “working from home” 😆

I don’t think I’ll do something like that again - it was interesting but quite difficult. I don’t know how people are able to write long posts on a phone at all - this comment is probably my limit!

I don’t know how people are able to write long posts on a phone at all

I'm used to that 😉.
I don't use my laptop that much. Let me say, when I was really active, that was when I used my laptop a lot but I rarely post anything now and I only comment on a few posts, yours especially, so the phone is okay by me.

I only comment on a few posts

Then that would be sufficient for me, too. Unless you write very long comments :-)

probably “working from home” 😆

🧐 so called "mobile working". 💭 Nice idea...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24