⚽ England Fans Served a RemindersteemCreated with Sketch.

in WOX Sportslast year (edited)

After the excitement on Monday of seeing us put 6 past Iran, last night was a reminder of what it's really like supporting England under Gareth Southgate.

👇 Source
image.png
Separator-red.png

To quote my Iran summary...

Things started as I'd expected and England kept possession without looking dangerous.

...and this time, they didn't change. John Stones and Harry Maguire controlled the pace of the game like the kings of boredom (👑) that they truly are - getting the ball, taking a couple of touches and passing it sideways, mostly to each other but not forgetting to include Luke Shaw and Kieran Trippier in the fun. Occasionally, the likes of Declan Rice and Harry Kane would drop back to join in the fun too, always ensuring that the ball would swiftly return to one of our central defenders. It comes as no surprise then, to see that our defenders had more touches than any other player last night.

RankPlayerTeamTouches
1Stones 👑England89
2ShawEngland84
3Maguire 👑England81
4TrippierEngland74

Source

Thinking that the American team had fallen asleep, we'd occasionally up the tempo and attack with Kane having a decent early chance which he didn't make the most of.

That was about it for English threat in the 1st half - the only other chance that I remember was a Mason Mount shot from the edge of the box which Matt Turner (Arsenal's reserve keeper) got down well to tip around the post.

USA had by far the better chances. Weston McKennie missing the best chance of the match, blazing his shot well over the crossbar from less than 10 yards before Christian Pulisic found a yard of space to hit the bar.

0-0 at Half Time and England fans were feeling bored, frustrated and somewhat lucky.

Surely Southgate would make changes and the 2nd half would be better.

Separator-grey-Football.png

But once again, a line from my Iran match summary...

Southgate likes to make substitutions at least 30 minutes after everybody else thinks he should

So the 2nd half was more of the same. Literally nothing happened and on 68 minutes, Southgate finally made his move. Grealish on for Sterling (yay!) and Jordan Fucking Henderson replaced Jude Bellingham. "Fuck this", I thought, so I closed my eyes and went to sleep, waking up to hear Roy Keane describe England as "awful".

More worryingly though, Gareth Southgate once again praised the dog shit that his team had served up. Praising how well we controlled possession from defence when the rest of us saw a lack of ideas and movement with the ball.

Separator-red-Football.png

Is Qualification Guaranteed?

Thanks to the great result against Iran, qualification is almost certainly guaranteed - a heavy defeat to a terrible Wales side our only route out at this stage of the tournament. We need to lose by a margin of 3 to 4 goals and Wales aren't renowned for their goal scoring prowess.

 PlWDLFAPTS
England2110624
Iran2101463
USA2020112
Wales2011131

USA v. Iran should be a decent game and with it being played at the same time as England's match, it's a difficult decision as to which I'll have on.

Separator-grey-Football.png

Match "Highlights"

Sort:  

I'm in the US and we watched from my parents club. We figured we would lose so, I guess it wasn't too bad of a game for us.

I'm looking forward to Tuesday's game against Iran, I think that'll be much more exciting than ours against Wales so I'll probably watch you guys instead 😁

qualification is almost certainly guaranteed

Yeah I think so too but I feel the team won't really go far after they qualify from the group. I didn't watch the match but I checked the ratings of the players with Luke Shaw having a 7.8, best in the team.. did he really play that well? And Maguire, with 91 touches or so!😂 the back 4 had more touches than all the others, that's some Manchester United-ish play...
Southgate made some wrong call ups.. the team doesn't look hungry enough, at least that's what I have seen. I just hope you don't lose against Wales.. you've won one, drawn one, which one is left?😄

And how did you see the Ghana Portugal match?

It wasn't fun to watch and reminded so many fans why we don't want Southgate as our manager. I wouldn't be surprised at all if Wales beat us. They're always ready for a battle against us and we know that barring something extraordinary, we've already qualified so if there's a 50-50 ball or even 60-40 in England's favour, they'll be crazy not to go in ultra-aggressive as our players will be shit-scared of getting hurt for the latter stages. Plus, the Welsh really don't like us so even if they go out having beaten us, I suspect they'll be satisfied with that.

And how did you see the Ghana Portugal match?

My only thought is...

I can't believe he slipped.

the Welsh really don't like us...

Really? Why?

I can't believe he slipped.

😬🥲 at that moment, I wish I could get on the park and do something really hurtful to him🙂

how we can touch you on discord
we have a development plan to share with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67