Butterfly Day and Insect Day

in Insect Pub โ€ข 5 years ago

#Butterflyday and Insect Day
Week 45 hosted by @whatisnew

๐Ÿœ
"Welcome to my world
says the little black Ant
sitting on top of a beautiful
white Peony plant."

๐Ÿœ
20200131_172701.jpg
06/28/2019

Ants love Peonies. The buds are sweet and they surely do know it.
Many times I've seen the buds totally covered with ants. They eat the delightful sweet nectar that is secreted.

๐Ÿœ
20200130_185947.jpg

I love to pick a few of the blossoms and enjoy them inside my cabin.
Before bringing them in I do a little visual inspection and remove any ants I see but always manage overlook one or two of them everytime. ๐Ÿœ๐Ÿœ

Photography by
@annephilbrick
๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ

Sort: ย 

Beautiful photos... I can almost smell the peonies! The ants must be happy!

๐Ÿ˜Š
Thank You..!!
@melinda010100
It must be like Heaven on earth to an ant๐Ÿœ..!
I sure am looking forward to the Peonies blooming in my garden again. About another five months to go.
:-)

5 months.... We are getting rain today. Such weird February weather.

๐Ÿ˜Š
@melinda010100
The peonies start budding and blossoming in June..๐Ÿค—๐ŸŒž
Rain..Wow..! That's amazing for February.
I am getting some snow showers. Not really expecting much in the way of accumulation ๐Ÿ˜Š. It cold out but not horribly cold.
:-)

Temps are just a few degrees above freezing. Looks like another week ahead with no sunshine, though. Peonies here used to always bloom the end of May, but recently it's been unpredictable, and some years has been much earlier.

๐Ÿ˜Š
@melinda010100
Still far more cloudy days than sunny ones here.
I have noticed over the past few years the change in the growing seasons. Last year and the year before everything was late in blooming. ๐Ÿค”. I have also seen the gardens ahead of growing time.

10C out there today! A record high for here on Feb 2nd. I went out and sat on the deck for a while, but it's pretty windy and not as comfortable as I would have liked! It looks like we will get back to Winters soon enough.

The little ant should be glad one of these guys isn't in the rose https://images.app.goo.gl/RAPDTQiupJe5cYCL7

๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ•ท๐Ÿ•ธ๐Ÿ•ท๐Ÿ•ธ๐Ÿ˜
@sketch.and.jam
Wow..!!!
I haven't seen a white crab spider. Amazing. I'm going to Google and see if they are in my region. It very well could be they and I haven't spotted one.
I'm not crazy about spiders but I don't freak out when I see them either. I just don't like to be surprised by one ๐Ÿ˜Š.

My Mom grew pink peonies when I was a kid and they were always covered with ants. Beautiful photos of the peonies and the ant. : )

๐Ÿ˜Š
Thank You ..!!
@whatisnew
The pink peonies are absolutely gorgeous.
The ants ๐Ÿœ๐Ÿœ๐Ÿœ๐Ÿœ surely do love that sweet nectar...๐Ÿค—๐Ÿœ
:-)

Beauty

๐Ÿ˜Š
Thank You..!!
@apnigrich
:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79