You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What people want to ban

in Threespeak5 years ago

I think saying "traditional" views might be a bit too nice. What is the "traditional" view of race? That all races are inferior to whites? That's not traditional, it's just racist.
What is the "traditional" view of sexuality? That if you're anything but straight, something is wrong with you and you're an abomination. Again, that's not traditional as much as it is bigoted.

Now I agree that the way to address these things is not with anger or just yelling at people. It will only get worse. But I also don't want to sugarcoat or whitewash it either. Gotta call a spade a spade.

I don't really have any fear that these as you put them traditional beliefs are right. At least I can't think of any. To me the problem is that at large, the masses are completely unprepared and defenseless against propaganda. It goes almost completely unchecked in our society so that people can't tell up from down, or left from right. I hope that a platform like Steem, that is neutral, can help by giving all voices, even the ones people might disagree with a platform where they can't be censored.

Sort:  

Fair enough. Yes, sometimes it's best to call a spade a spade.

I think a traditional view of race is that there are differences between races and that each one has things they do exceptionally well. A traditional view of sexuality is that heterosexuality is the norm. A traditional view of gender is that there's only two of them. A traditional view of sex is that each one has things they do exceptionally well. A traditional view of family is the nuclear family.

Each one of those views can be seen as bigoted.

I worry that some traditional beliefs might be the most effective. Maybe saying "right" wasn't what I meant.

I agree that people are unprepared and defenseless against propaganda, and it seems to be controlling both sides.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54