Hitchhiking Europe: Spain to Denmark. Day 4

in #hitchhiking7 years ago

I slept better than ever at my friend’s; well I overslept. We had agreed to meet my father at 11 in Düsseldorf, but we've been there an hour late…

We chose an easy meeting point: the tv tower. The three of us were hungry, we hadn't had any breakfast. So we've walked along the river and chosen the place we wanted: fish and some beer for the fathers!
We've then walked a bit in the town, we've had dessert (the big round white thing from Berlin) and done some shopping for the day. Back in the tv tower and my friend has given us a lift to a gas station that was supposed to be a good hitchhiking spot. See you soon my friend!

It wasn´t a good spot...the police has had some chat with my father because he was too close to the highway. I think we have been lucky to get somebody who could get us out of that place. He was a guy originally from Albania working and living in Germany for the last 20 years. I've talked a lot in German with him :) He was complaining about how much he worked. He had all the good intention but the gas station in Gelschekirchen we have been dropped at was not good at all. At least has given us his phone number to call him in case we were totally unlucky.

A big part of that not being a good hitchhiking spot has been ours as well. We had planned to drive through Bremen to Hamburg, so first we need to get to Munster. But we were also asking for Dortmund before (yes, there are way too many big cities together in this area) and that place was good for Dortmund, but not for Munster, so nobody was stopping, just one or two offering a ride to Dortmund and telling us that the highway to Munster was in the other side of the city.

We've walked a lot! Pretty unsuccessfully though. And I've got angry with my father, throwing out all the rubbish I had inside about my trip to Helsinki and him being late and so on… I had planned to be in CPH by day 4, and we were not even going to reach Hamburg…

We've found a pretty bad spot to get to the highway to Munster, but -this is life- the least unexpected guys have picked us and given us extremely useful advice. They were two Arabic guys driving a nice Audi super fast towards Dortmund and they've told us that most people would drive over Hannover in order to go to Hamburg from where we were at. So they’ve given us a lift to the highway entrance in Dortmund towards Hannover p. Back on track! Danke ihnen!

Everything cannot be perfect though. It was too late and after more than an hour of waiting, we’be said goodnight and have walked towards the city...but it was 8 km away! But again...luck, this is life, about 5 minutes away from the hitchhiking spot there was a perfect cemetery with all the facilities we needed. There was even a covered place, so no tent has been necessary.

The night has been horrible for me though. Hard scratching on my arms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44