You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tales of Pirates - Bartholomew Roberts "Black Bart"

in #history6 years ago

I grew up in La Palma (Canary Islands) and we were many times under pirates attacks back in the day. Our main festivity is a representation of the defense of the island from pirates :) with a battle between a ship anchored in the town and the castle. They use paper instead of canyon balls but It made me curious about it when younger. I recently watched Black Sails and started to check back on history.

Sort:  

We have similar fest in Omiš, Croatia, but pirates are celebrated here as they were our pirates robbing The Republic of Venice which was our archenemy at the time. :)

We have a pirate´s day when François LeClerc (known as Pata de Palo or wooden leg) attacked and took over my island and then asked for a ransom, so now they celebrate the pirate´s day too LOL, but then each five years they make this additional "virtual" battle between the ship and castle.:)

Sounds cool :) I don't now much about him besides him being a privateer from Normandy. I will investigate him some more, who knows, maybe I end up writing about him one day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75