How Louisville went from Class to Trash

in #history8 years ago (edited)

I was looking into my towns history and how it became the ghetto.

Back a hundred and eighty years ago the west side of Louisville was the main cargo transporting area. The town grew big cause of the riverboats and trades.

the trading here put Louisville on the map as times went on and made Louisville the biggest city in Kentucky.

Then in 1937 there was a flood when the river overflowed into the city. It was the most rain in any month of Louisville's history. The Ohio River's flood stage for more then 3 weeks. The crest was 10 foot or higher in low levels of the city.

One million people became homeless and 385 dead. Costing over $500 million in property loses. The disaster happened during the Great Depression at that. In January and February of 1937. It was a mess.

After all was rebuilt and everything got back to normal living conditions. Portland was the more money area with nice looking house's built daily and explaning the town of Louisville.

Then in 1968, with the assassination of Martin Luther King on May 27, 1968 caused riots in Portland. The blacks ran off all the white people to the east and south sides of Louisville.

Now Portland is the highest crime neighborhood. Starting to make most of Louisville a bad place to live. 

And with most people in Louisville living off the goverment on food stamps and disablity. There's more people free loading off the goverment the the people that do work. Marks Louisville a bad place to be when the shit hits the fan.

Louisville is ranked number 8 in all America with the homicide's. Is why I'm ready to move away.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ohio_River_flood_of_1937

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1968_Louisville_riots

Sort:  

I was born in Louisville but we moved to Florida when I was 9 (that was in 1984).

I lived in Louisville most all my life. I Lived in Miami or Tampa Florida during winters since 1991. Louisville ain't really that bad now but its getting there.

I can't say I've ever really wanted to move back. When I was a kid we would always go back for Christmas (grandparents still lived there). I still have some family there but I haven't been back for five years or so.

I only go back for horse racing on Kentucky Derby week. I try to stay away from city out on a farm in Shelbyville.

I lived in Bedford for a year as a kid, that's pretty farmy :)

I would like to do the Kentucky Derby one year. I've only ever really watched the balloon race...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71