American Civil War Letters - May 8, 1865 - A Miscellaneous News Paper

in #history7 years ago

My health is good, and I work as hard as I can. I hope when the Lord comes, he will say, "Well done. Enter now into thy rest."


It seems certain that Abel will be coming home soon - it's just a matter of how soon. There's talk of a detour through Richmond.

Marcia is eager to have him back, not least because she needs his labor and expertise on the farm. She'll just have to keep adjusting her plans until he arrives.


Springfield May 8 1865

My dear husband

I read your letter to Abbie.

You say you do not know whether you will go to Richmond or not. It would be nice to see that famed city, but I do not know how to wait for you to go there. We want to see you - see you at home! I long to have some one take some of the care and responsibility, and labor, too, off from my shoulder. Not that I would shrink from necessary labor or care, but I feel it would be a relief to share it with someone else, and sometimes I think I need relief.

My health is good, and I work as hard as I can. I hope when the Lord comes, he will say, "Well done. Enter now into thy rest."

Dr Sawyer has a little daughter. Mr Whitcomb has another son.

Mr James Bates is dead. His funeral was yesterday.

Sam Aldrich and wife were here. He called on me today. Merial is to stay a while.

Henry Spencer is married - was in town yesterday with his wife - but I did not see him.

Mr Ingham has bought the staging business here. His family are still in Keene. He has tried to buy Mr Bates's house, and Mr Wheeler's, but I do not think he will move here.

Mr Brown was again chosen superintendent of the Sabbath school. In the evening, a delegate of the Christian Commission lectured here. His lecture was interesting.

Sarah Closson is to be married in about two weeks. (This ought to have come under the head "marriages," but I did not think of it.)

Yesterday was communion. Mr Godard joined the church, and two joined by letter.

The 9 Tuesday morn

It is raining. Yesterday was warm and beautiful, and this is a warm, nice rain. Everything looks green and fresh.

Mr Haywood fixed the fence yesterday so that the cow can be turned out. She will be better when she can get grass to eat.

Fruit trees look nice now. The Canada plum is white with blossoms, and others are budded full. The Woodstock pear is not budded very full, but all others are just as full as can be.

My peas are up, my tomatoes are ready to transplant, and I commence as soon as the rain stops. I have put some of the vines and was hoping you would do the rest, but as you are not to be here this week, I must do the best I can. They are all starting well.

The children wish father would get some of those beautiful plants and bring home, or flower seeds. In one letter you mentioned eggplant seeds. I never received any.

I am so glad you have got able to walk out. You must be careful so as to get home as quick as possible. You said in two or three weeks, you should be discharged, so I look for you one week from next Saturday. That is not allowing time to go to Richmond. Perhaps it will take another week. I know it takes a long time to get around with this business, and mean to be patient.

Your wife truly

Marcia S Grennell

[added to top page:]

We are all well. This is a miscellaneous news paper.


This is a transcription of a letter that my great-great-great grandmother sent to her husband during his service in the American Civil War. It was written with minimal punctuation, so I have made regular edits for readability while keeping the content of the letter as close to the source as possible.
You can click on the original letters to see a high resolution scan for comparison.
I have dozens of letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell to her husband Abel from this period, and will continue to share them as time and interest permit. The letters make for fascinating reading, and provide an intimate look into domestic life at the time of this conflict.

CLICK HERE to read more letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell and her family during the civil war.

Or CLICK HERE for a complete catalog of my work on Steemit, so far.

Sort:  

Thank you for information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76