American Civil War Letters - May 5, 1865 - Counting the Days and Miles Until Her Husband Comes Home

in #history7 years ago (edited)

I am glad you are better. I think you fare better than you would at home. At least those little dainties, I have not. I am glad you have them. I do not think Abram had things for his comfort.


I don't know what kind of "little dainties" they were feeding Abel in Balfour hospital. But given how hard life has been at home, it sounds like he's doing all right.


Springfield May 5 1865

My dear husband

With a degree of certainty we look forward, expecting to see you face to face in a short time.

I am glad you are better. I think you fare better than you would at home. At least those little dainties, I have not. I am glad you have them. I do not think Abram had things for his comfort.

I am at work in my garden as hard as I can. I have nearly worked my cold off, so that I am pretty well now.

I can not hire my work done. I never dreaded to begin to work as much as I did this spring, but have made pretty good progress. A man would have taken it (my garden) to the halves, but I thought the whole would be better than one half [even] if I did not raise as much as he would.

They have not had work in the shops, so that Sarah has been at liberty, and has taken hold to help, and it looks as though we should get our garden planted.

We have a lot of little chickens - real funny little things.

I asked Mr Haywood how far it was to N.Y. He says it is about 250 miles. He has been by way of Albany, and it is 300 that way.

We are all well and counting the days.

Mr H. thought our cow would do better alone, and so Mr Bates has another pasture hired now. Our fence has got to be fixed up, which Mr Haywood will do for me. He is so kind. I do not know as I shall pay him for his deeds, but I have given him a Delaware and Rebecca vine, also one of each kind to Mr Bates. They are very kind to me.

When I see you face to face I shall say many things to you, but have not time now. The children salute you. Peace be with you.

Truly your wife

M S Grennell


This is a transcription of a letter that my great-great-great grandmother sent to her husband during his service in the American Civil War. It was written with minimal punctuation, so I have made regular edits for readability while keeping the content of the letter as close to the source as possible.
You can click on the original letters to see a high resolution scan for comparison.
I have dozens of letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell to her husband Abel from this period, and will continue to share them as time and interest permit. The letters make for fascinating reading, and provide an intimate look into domestic life at the time of this conflict.

CLICK HERE to read more letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell and her family during the civil war.

Or CLICK HERE for a complete catalog of my work on Steemit, so far.

Sort:  

"little dainties" = oysters?

That would make sense! Portsmouth VA is right at the southern end of the Chesapeake Bay, so they would have been extremely plentiful.

She mentioned them a few times before.

Awsome Blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64