American Civil War Letters - March 31, 1864 - Rolling Hoop, Playing Ball, and a Sugar Party!

in #history7 years ago

It pays to be a Christian, and now you will have access to a great many men, and how much good you can do! One sinner saved would pay for your going to war...


Again we have a collection of several letters sent in a single envelope, with news from Marcia and her daughters Marion, Abbie, and Sarah.

I have decided to share all these in a single post,to mirror the experience Abel would have had receiving this packet of letters in North Carolina.


[Abbie writes:]

Springfield Mar 27 1869

My Dear Father

We are all pretty well now. Marion is up and around the house.

I have written you two letters. You have not answered but one of them, but I expect you have not got them both. You can't think how glad we all are when we get a letter from you. When Geo. brings home a letter we all jump at it to hear the news from you.

I was in hopes you would write to me on my birth day, because you did on George's, but it seems you did not. I am 15 ys old. It barely seems possible that I have got to be so old. Sarah will be 17 in a little while.

We have not heard from uncle Abram for a long time. I wrote him some time ago. I don't see why he don't write.

Marion is writing to you now. I am glad you are better, and hope you will keep so.

You did not say anything about your carbuncle so I expect it is better.

I was in hopes that they would keep you in the hospital. [For his service posting, not for recovery.] But if you get in the post office it will be still better for you, I should think. I hope they will have you there. You will not be so apt to have diseases there as in the hospital, I should not think.

The sabbath school concert was last Sunday evening. Mary, Marion, and I said verses. Anna was not able to go. I gave her my card - she wanted me to.

For verses next time, first, Anna is going to say the 4th commandment. Next, Mary is going to say a part of the 26th chap. of Leviticus, beginning with the 2 verse to the 7th, 11 and 12, and from the 14 to the 18 and 32 to the 36. Marion is going to say the 2 last verses of the 58 chap. Isaih.

I said I thought you would like to knew just what they were going to say, so I wrote it.

Mother, Sarah, and Mary have gone to meeting. Mother has got a bad cold, and so have I, but I don't think nothing about it.

It is very pleasant today. It is real warm. Sarah, Mary, and I went up to Mr Woodbury's sugaring a week ago yesterday. Their sap had stood in their buckets so long, their sugar was not very white and clear (so they said).

I expect they will keep Mr Mann for a year. I hope they will. I like him very much. I think he is a very good christian man. He has called here twice. Aunt B likes him very much. She is quite favorable.

I want you should write me often. I must close, for Marion wants to write, so good by from your aff[ectionate] daughter

Abbie.

[Postscript added to top page:] I had a letter from Emma. She said Grennell Mother was dead and Aunt Electa too.

Mother had a letter from uncle Thomas. He said Grand Ma was taken very suddenly with a pain in her side. Aunt Electa was sick several weeks. She died with the congestion of the lungs, I think it was.

Write soon, from

Abbie


[Marion writes:]

Springfield March 1864

Dear Papa

I have been sick and am not quite well. Yet I have earned two cards by saying verses. One is the bird's song, and the other is the conceted girl. I should be very glad if you would give me something.

From your afecnaled daughter

Marion G Grennell


[Marcia:]

28

We are all well this morning. I attended the Christian association last evening. Mr Westgate is the president.

Mr Mann made some very solemn remarks. He spoke of Mrs Lewis. She was unconscious, almost, from the first, so there was no time for a deathbed repentance.

And now, my dear husband, good by.

May the Lord be merciful,

M.S. Grennell


[Marcia:]

Springfield March 29

My Dear Husband

I received yours of the 18th and 20th yesterday saying that you was Post Master. I truly rejoice! It is the Lord who has done it, and I bless his name. This morning, before I was, up the 91 Psalm was in my mind. "He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust." Also, "A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee. Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked."

O, the Lord is merciful! Let us not forget all his benefits. I could not help exclaiming to the children, "'tis the Lord who hath done it."

I felt some what disappointed whe you was sent to your Reg. from the hospital, but God had better things in store for you.

We have had very fine weather for a few days, and the ground is settling fast. The children begin to roll hoop and play ball. Marion and Anna have been out some for two or three days.

Yesterday morning a young fellow by the name of Wilson (a brother of that Mrs Nourse that I have mentioned) died. He was out in Dr Crain's sugar lot in the morning of Sabbath day, was taken sick at two in the afternoon, and it 4 in the morning of Monday, was dead.

Dea Smart is very sick. Dr Knight says it is doubtful about his recovery.

30

I received a letter from you this morning containing $6 in money.

I think I could have got along very well, if I ever get any state pay, and make any thing out of my tomatoes. Aunt Mary let me keep the pay for the rent so that I am not destitute, and I suppose Mr Mitchel will pay me $9, and by the time that is used up I shall have some from some other source. But the money you sent will enable me to pay the school tax.

I hope you will not need the money. I should be sorry [to] deprive you of comforts that you might have.

I do not know whether you would get the stamps or not. I think the letters have not all reached you. The first one I sent very soon after you went from NY. I put a letter that Albert

wrote in with mine, but you have never mentioned it, so I have come to think you do not get my letters regularly.

I am glad you got the handkerchiefs. I hope you will get the box of salve that Hannah sent you to put on your face. She thinks [it] will cure it up the quickest of anything. She is very kind to me.

I have heard that the old tavern is to be replaced by a nice brick building worth 15 or 20 thousand dollars. There are to be a number of shares. Bates is to hold one and superentend the building. H. Whitemore is to be another share-holder. Who the others are, I do not know. You know who the money men are better than I do. Henry Harlow will furnish the brick, I suppose. He has sold out the meat business.

From your wife

M S Grennell

[Postscript added to top page:]

31

We are all well this morn. I will send one dollar's worth of stamps. It may save you some trouble and one dollar won't kill any one if you do not get it.

Write as often as you can. It is such a favor to get a letter.

In love, your wife

M S Grennell


[Sarah:]

Springfield March 30th 1864

Dear Father

We received your letter today dated Mar 22, and with it, $6.

We are all pretty well now. The children are all learning [to] write so that they can write a letter to papa, with writing letters [cursive] just as papa and mama do.

Abbie went over to Mrs Whealor's Monday to help her. Mrs Whealor's health is very poor.

In my studies I have got nearly through Physiology, 2/3rds through my Analysis. I do not think I shall get through my Algebra this term.

Today is the day for the Rhetorical class, but there was a sugar party up to Mr Fullarn's, and the teachers were invited, so it was deferred until tomorrow.

I am going to speak a piece called "the Negro's complaint." Last week I wrote on the Sabbath.

Miss Sara Jay is going to have a reading tonight, 15 cts admission. She was up to the Seminary this morning at prayers and spoke a piece entitled "Over the River." I think she spoke very well. I should

[like to] hear her tonight, very much, but do not expect to.

They have commenced having Gymnastics up to the Sem. I should like to join them but it would cost 40 cts extra.

My tuition this term $6.25. (Mother says it don't cost anything to go to school!) $3.50 for commonon English and 75 cts for each of my studdies and 50 cts for incidentals.

It has been pretty warm here for the last few days, but it is colder today, and has been trying to snow, but I guess it won't make out.

Mother has got the tomatoes planted and there are a few coming up. Quite a number of folks have spoken for them.

Sam Tower and Missie Johnson visited here last Monday afternoon and took tea with us. He came to town some time last week. He has been in the army himself, and had two sons in it. One of them was killed at the battle ________ and the other was wounded at the battle of ________. We saw his son's pictures with their uniform on.

We have not heard from Uncle Abram for some time. I do not see why he does not write. Have you received any letters from him since you have been down there?

There is going to be a prayer meeting over to Mr Bates' tomorrow evening.

Mr Man came in here today to get one of the children to go around among the neighbors and tell them what the prayer meeting will be. He thinks you have got a very good berth. He says probably you will have to write letters for the Soldiers.

Mother asked him if he was going to stay with us. He said "I guess so. I don't know any reason why I shouldn't and I know a good many why I should." So I think he will stay.

There has been some very sudden deaths here. Within a week! Mrs Lewis, mother has told you about, and a boy Harvey Wilson died Monday Morning about 4 o'clock. He was out Sunday.

Mrs Butterfield has two children very sick. Abbie just came in and said that Dea Smart was very sick. The Dr does not expect him to live with this same disease.

We have prayer meetings for the young every Tuesday. Prof Bowers is going to conduct the next meeting next week. Mr Brown did last night.

My stock of news is out, so I will say good by.

From your affectionate daughter

Sarah G S

[Marcia:]

My dear husband,

If I knew that you would get the stamps I could get along without the money. I think I will wait till you answer this, and if you think best will send as many as you say.

Perhaps you think strange that the money flies so swift. You know I paid 25 dollars to Dr S, 4.50 to Mr How, 4.50 for the wringer, 12 to Mr Eaton, 2.50 to Mr Bailey, 53 dollars my wood cost, and 4.50 for 1/2 barrell flour, which would take a large part of the money.

I shall not run in debt unless sickness compel me.

Yours truly

Marcia S Grennell

[Postscript added to top page:]

O My dear husband

I do feel truly thankful that you are so highly favored. It pays to be a Christian and now you will have access to a great many men, and how much good you can do! One sinner saved would pay for your going to war, but I hope many will remember you as the kind friend who pointed them to the savior.

M. S. Grennell


This is a transcription of a letter that my great-great-great grandmother sent to her husband during his service in the American Civil War. It was written with minimal punctuation, so I have made regular edits for readability while keeping the content of the letter as close to the source as possible.
Where archaic and mis-spellings do not hinder understanding, I have transcribed them as written.
You can click on the original letters to see a high resolution scan for comparison.
I have dozens of letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell to her husband Abel from this period, and will continue to share them as time and interest permit. The letters make for fascinating reading, and provide an intimate look into domestic life at the time of this conflict.

CLICK HERE to read more letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell and her family during the civil war.

Or CLICK HERE for a complete catalog of my work on Steemit, so far.

Sort:  

it's great bro your collection its just historical

Again, have read these letters with great pleasure!

Amazing, thank you for the time and effort that you have put into this.

You're welcome. It's a project I've wanted to do for myself for a long time; I'm glad folks on Steemit can get some enjoyment out of it!

A wonderful project! I think it would be a good book. I'm sorry I'm out of votes.

Thanks, @nashwildcard!

Putting them into a POD book might make a nice follow up project. I'm really hoping the letters from Abel turn up as we dig through more family things - I think it would complete it to have both sides of the story!

Don't worry about the votes - I've got 60+ more letters to edit and post!

You have a great attitude, followed. Abel's side, that would be wonderful. Self-publish on Amazon and don't forget to do an audio version for Audible. I am working with an author to do both of the above. Her daughter died so everything is on hold for awhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62