American Civil War Letters - June 9, 1865 - Salt Some Meat For Abel, He's On His Way Home

in #history7 years ago

It will not be necessary to ask you to get each child a keep-sake to remember this long separation.


This is the last letter I have from Marcia to her husband, Abel, during his service in the American Civil War. As usual, it's full of glimpses of their day-to-day life and insights into their characters.
Although I'm glad Abel made it home safely, it seems a shame that these communications ceased. Over the past few months of working on this project, I feel that I've gotten to know this family well, and participated in a slice of history which, if it weren't for this separation, would have been forever lost. Still, it's a pleasure to imaging the joyful reunion which must have occurred shortly after Marcia wrote this letter.
There are a few more documents remaining to share in coming days: a sort-of sermon written by Abel shortly after enlisting, and a couple of letters he wrote in later years, during business trips. They're noteworthy as the only communications I have in his hand, and they reveal a man as dedicated to faith and family as his wife.

Springfield June 9 1865

My dear husband

I have just received yours of the 6. No discharge yet. It is trying, but no use fretting.

George did not go out to work. He is so lazy. I thought he had better go somewhere where he would have someone with him. My patience is all worn out, and if you had not said you was coming home so soon, I should have put him somewhere. He will not work alone.

I have just got my plants set out. Some of the corn that I planted at first did not come up. I have planted again.

I have some very fine lettuce, peas in blossom. And squashes and melons and cucumbers are looking pretty well.

You say you are sorry I did not mention other things. I did, in a letter I sent to NY. I said I should like a summer shawl, but I do not want one unless it is a good one. Mine I have had ever since I was 19 years old, and I want a good black silk shawl, but do not know as it can be had. It would last me for a summer shawl as long as I expect to live.

Sarah says that such as I want for Abbie can be bought for 3 dollars. Calico is 28 cts per yd, cotton cloth (good, nice) 37, Japanese tea 1.25, crushed sugar 19.

My calf is killed. It is very nice meat. I have salted it so you can have some with greens when you get home. We have not had many this spring. Pork has been so high. I want a pig, but have not bought one yet.

I do not know how to do without you.

Sophia Lewis is expecting her husband this week. Herbert Jenkins has got home, and Frank Bates. Herbert Davis has gone to Texas with Fred Crain, and so has Si. Spencer. Mrs Spring has been expecting her husband. Mr Hamilton wrote his wife not to write him again, as he did not think he should get it.

With me, all is uncertainty.

I said in a former letter, if you could get a sofa cheap, and a chair, I should be glad of them. I do want them, but there are so many things I want. I have not bought me a calico dress since you went away, and [became] nearly destitute, but am getting along rather than pay so much. It must be cheaper sometime.

I am glad if you can have the whole bounty. We need it so much.

Abram's business is not settled up. It takes a long time.

Sarah is in the shop. She says she is making the last pair as an apprentice, then she thinks to earn something, which is necessary. Kidder would not pay for her board. I do not like that very well.

Frances Woodbury is coming here to board. I shall have pay for her board. I must find out all about it, and Sarah will pay for hers, now she is earning something.

You must keep quiet and get well fast.

I am beginning to get over my fret.

Your wife

M S Grennell

[postscript added to top page:]

It will not be necessary to ask you to get each child a keep sake to remember this long separation.


This is a transcription of a letter that my great-great-great grandmother sent to her husband during his service in the American Civil War. It was written with minimal punctuation, so I have made regular edits for readability while keeping the content of the letter as close to the source as possible.
You can click on the original letters to see a high resolution scan for comparison.

CLICK HERE to read more letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell and her family during the civil war.

Or CLICK HERE for a complete catalog of my work on Steemit, so far.

Sort:  

Okay, so that's it and now she is flat out mad. I rather like it! If her husband knows what's good for him he better bring home a heap of stuff! I'm so sad this series is at an end!

Yeah - a bit of shopping to make up for the fact it took him so long to get home!

Nice post @winstonalden thank you for share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51