You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mystery History Pt4b - Lake Monsters and Myths - Lake Erie.

in #history7 years ago

Thanks for picking my neck of the woods! I work in Erie and have lived near (with in an hour drive) all my life. Being a local, I knew some of the stories, but I didn't know how Erie came by her name. As a young girl, I was very interested in Bessie and read all I could find on her and Bessie

I remember the local papers over the Pump House attacks. Keep that toothy fish far from me!! Erie seems to always have strange happenings (I'm glad I only work here, now)
I actually stopped swimming in lake Erie when I got sick as a teenage girl. There is too much factory waste allowed to drain in it. It probably killed the beasts.

We also have many tales of Bigfoot in NW Pennsylvania...
https://exemplore.com/cryptids/Bigfoot-in-Pennsylvania

I'm sharing with the locals on my Facebook and Twitter 😁❤

Sort:  

Thanks babe, I wondered if someone from the area would read this post. I'm glad it's you babe.
The pollution aspect was something I'd not considered, the older sightings were much more convincing as they often had multiple witnesses such as in 1863 when a whole ships crew witnessed the event.
Since then I'm sure all manner of shit has been pumped into the lake. It wouldn't be the first time the actions of humans led to the downfall of another species.
Thanks for reading and commenting babe ❤️

I really enjoyed the information and I was thrilled to recognize so many things about Bessie. I nearly forgot both stories. I hope the people on my Facebook read. A large amount are Erieites!
Shared on Twitter, too.

Thanks again babe ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51