Ancient Mysteries Kumeyaay Rock Art

in #history7 years ago

IMG_6164.JPG

Cupules

These indentations in the granite on the San Pasqual Battlefield are not bullet holes. They are a tribal art called "cupules".

Kumeyaay may have used these indentations to create symbols for rites of initiation, as a way to call the rain, to increase fertility, or for some other unknown purpose. The surviving Kumeyaay have no record or tradition of their use (at least so far as they shared with the Europeans)

I photographed these cupules while visiting the San Pasqual Battlefield Museum. The patterns remind me of constellations in the night sky ... perhaps they are calendar markings for important dates in the Kumeyaay history.

While we were out exploring, my son William decided he was going to go for a hike.
IMG_6158.JPG


DQmSATX3k1zuK9N1EVBS58w4h6m19NeyceAb5ccsyQHaGJD_1680x8400.png
As always, I Steem for my kids...
comment.pngupvote.png

Sort:  

@timeshiftarts Steemit is gonna change lots of lifes, it has changed mine and many others but that is just the beginning. Followed

I'm not sure that this has anything to do with my post ... but Thanks?

Thanks for sharing @timeshiftarts . Love it.

You're very welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43