GUVERNØREN Shipwreck at Enterprise Island

in #history6 years ago

There are many, many shipwrecks in Antarctica. A lot of wrecks come from the sealing and whaling time, which saw quite a profitable time during WWI. This is due to whale oil being a great source of glycerin, which is what they used to create dynamite/bombs - you might see why it was highly sort after during World War 1.


IMG_1291-2.jpg

You can see some small zodiacs investigating the wreck of the GUVERNØREN


The GUVERNØREN was shipwrecked back in 1915 on January 27th after she caught on fire during a crew party, where the story goes that someone bumped a burning lantern off a table. A more comprehensive story is that the crew were celebrating a successful 1914-15 whaling season on the Antarctic peninsula with 5050 m3 of whale oil stored in her hull. Once she did catch fire all attempts to put the fire out failed, which included them firing explosive harpoons into the hull to partially sink her so that the ocean would put the fire out in order to save the cargo. However, all the cargo was lost BUT none of the 83 crew lost their lives, which is quite remarkable considering the remote area.

Today you can see the ship is partially exposed and quite a sight to see and provides another colour rather than natural landscape colours of blue, white and black. Also, Antarctic terns use this man made structure as a nesting ground, which is a beautiful small tern.


IMG_1294-2.jpg

An Antarctic Tern on the GUVERNØREN shipwreck

!steemitworldmap -64.545430 lat -62.020450 long GUVERNØREN d3scr


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Great winter photography!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Oh wow!! Thank you for the Honorable mention! heaps appreciated

Amazing photos like always, Thomas!

Thank you! I am glad you liked it

Interesting post good work keep it up

Cheers! I shall do my best to keep it coming

Neat bit of history! Glad all the crew survived! Lovely photos.

I am stoked that you liked the photos and the history

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thomasjmitchell
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=guvernoren-shipwreck-at-enterprise-island


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Really great photos. Thanks for sharing.
Curious, do you resize your photos for web? The quality looks amazing!

Thanks! Greatly appreciated. I do enjoy sharing my expedition life experiences😊

That I do - I resize them to 300K when I export photos out of Lightroom & ensure it is very screen resolution

Awesome - thanks very much. Looks like that's the way to go. Appreciate the advice.

This is a great photo shot. I was wondering whether this was snow or the cloud for a long time. This really drew my attention

The ice and snow down there is beyond impressive. I am heaps happy you enjoyed the photography. Thanks for the support 😊

I loved!
I like that with photography you explain everything very well.

That is awesome to hear from you!! I am glad you enjoyed the post and the photographs I took 😊

me hizo el día

Le comente a mi familia de tu trabajo y de lo mucho que me impresiona lo que haces, me pidieron que les mostrara tus fotos y han quedado fascinados te mandan felicitaciones!!!!

¡¡Eso es muy amable de tu parte!! Muchas gracias, Daniela 😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69