CIA Memo 1967: CIA Coined & Weaponized The Label "Conspiracy Theory"

in #history7 years ago (edited)

In 1967 The CIA released a dispatch that coined the label "conspiracy theory" and "conspiracy theorists" to attack anyone who challenged the official narrative from the Warren Commission. It's interesting to note that the document is labelled "psych", for psychological operations or disinformation. It's also marked "CS copy" at the bottom, meaning "Clandestine Services" Unit.

This document was requested and released to The New York Times in 1976 via The Freedom of Information Act. Below is the CIA dispatch. Read it for yourself.

CIA Dispatch: Weaponizing "conspiracy theorist" label Page#1

CIA Dispatch: Weaponizing "conspiracy theorist" label Page#2

>

After the 1960's the word "conspiracy theory", "conspiracy theorist", and "conspiracy" started having a negative connotation and is enough to silence anyone who questions the official narrative. To this day we still view conspiracy theorists as crazy tinfoil hatters.

----

For more entries like this entry let me know in the comments below so I could post more things like this, better yet follow me. Or subscribe to the weekly podcasts found in iTunes and Stitcher. Episodes are also available in YouTube, Vidme, and of course my website.

I'm also available in legacy social media platforms and alt-social media platforms: Gab, Minds, and Twitter.

Sort:  

Super interesting post thanks! FOIA requests have been eye opening I dare say.👽🤖

It is FOIA releases like this, that then general public will never see, and quite honestly, never care to see, that will perpetuate exactly what is laid out in this document. Thanks for posting this.

I'm not saying that your article isn't accurate b/c I have heard this over & over again for years now, but when I went to look for evidence I couldn't find any (I HATE GOOLAG) & instead I found this.

What are your thoughts?

Where did you get those SSs of that CIA report?

https://theconversation.com/theres-a-conspiracy-theory-that-the-cia-invented-the-term-conspiracy-theory-heres-why-132117

I would like to get a detailed explanation of "Epstein's theory for attack" and "Spectator piece for background" in the 3-b paragraph of CIA Document 1035-960. And if you have a link to see Fletcher Knebel's article , please provide it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85