Primitive drawings engraved in 'stone newspaper' sohow what life was like for native Americans over 2,000 years ago

in #history7 years ago (edited)

I’ve been trying to post this article for two days – but the damn bug in the steemit system has been giving me a hard time. I feel lucky that I’ve written it on Microsoft word first and then tried to post it here; otherwise I would have lost it all. Two times I formatted the post in the posting box with images and all, and when it hit the post button, it just vanished into thin air. It’s really frustrating, and I hope it does not happen this time. Well, I’ll no longer annoy you with my mourning – here goes the article, hope you’d enjoy it:  

The American canyons are known all over the world for their grandeur and beauty. However, what many people don’t know that it features some amazing archeological sites. I’m talking about the “Newspaper Rock”.

source

Located in Juan County, Utah, the Newspaper Rock isn’t actually an actual newspaper or a single piece of rock. It’s an area full of an area full of petroglyphs (rock art in low relief) in dozens of rocks. The name alludes to the concept that ancient peoples used the technique to record elements which were present in their daily life.   

Despite the name, Newspaper Rock is not a single rock, but a site with several of them, at least 650. Experts believe that the first petroglyphs of the region were recorded about 2000 years ago , and that different peoples have left their marks there.

 The creation of so many drawings on rocks so close indicates that the place was important to the people. Some experts believe that the drawings include symbols of clans or families, hold spiritual meanings, represent symbols of calendars or mark territorial boundaries or migratory routes.     

 Analyzing the petroglyphs, you can see that they were made in different historical periods - some more recent were dated 600 years ago, and larger ones are 1.5 meters high. There are no linear stories, and collections include buffalo, deer, lizards, antelopes and people riding horses. The Newspaper Rock is part of the list of North American historical places and is visited by many people because of its connection with several generations of the past.   

 Checkout some incredible images of Newspaper Rock:  

source

source

source

source

source

source

source

What is Petroglyph anyway:   

It is the art of carving rocks through picking on their surface directly. When the darker “desert varnish” on a rock surface is beaked off, the lighter rock which was hidden underneath, will be visible – and thus, the carvings will make sense. And, it is longer lasting than the cave paintings. 

|| if you've enjoyed my article - let me know through Upvote and Comment. And, for more contents like this, Follow me here @tamurah ||     

courtesy : https://www.nps.gov

Sort:  

Dude! These drawings are amazing, but you know this suggests that human beings 2000 years ago on the the American conttinent weren’t as advanced as the ones in Europe, Middle East and China side. It could be that due the huge ocean, travelling to America back then was difficult and few people have tried it but weren’t successful?

India also was very advanced that time - they could easily compete with any other top civilizations such as egypt or china . the native americans of that particular region might have been behind them - however, civilizations like mayans or incas were quite advanced in their own ways - they were quite advanced in architecture and other stuffs. i'm not sure, but i think the people lived where the Newspaper Rock is located were quite distant from the actual Mayans or Incas; they werent truely connected with the core civilizations of the American region that time. :)

Your post r very interesting and helpful. So I appreciate your working. It may inspaire many other. Like it inspires me. Can u plz follow me and upvote me . If u help me, my friend I will follow you. I had vote you. It's about amazing facts and Fun.

Good evening, thank you very much for watching this video of the petroglyphs and archeology and its relationship with beings from space, thanks again for your link and your subscription to my channel, I subscribe to your page

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57