You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sungods in Exile: Pseudo-Archaeology at its Finest

in #history8 years ago

I've always found UFOlogists to be a weird bunch. I've never been able to take tales of alien sightings and encounters seriously.

Of course, I have a bit of a personal grudge in this area, because my grandfather died in an air accident that these nutjobs claim was caused by aliens.

http://weekinweird.com/2014/04/11/ascending-to-the-stars-the-grouse-mountain-incident/

Sort:  

As a child, i suffered through sleep paralysis almost every night. Its a disorder thats probably responsible for at least a good percentage of abduction stories. I believed, though never told anyone, that i had been a victim of alien abuse until my 20s when i saw an article on the internet about sleep paralysis. People come up with weird ideas to explain information that they can't find a logical way to process.

Yes I think sleep paralysis accounts for a lot of paranormal phenomena.

Good point. Sleep paralysis sounds like a very frightening experience. The alien link there has been suggested by many, whether it's real or imagined. In past times, it may have been witches or demons.

To be fair they aren't all crazy. There is weird stuff in the skies but most of the time it is just natural stuff and misidentifications but some people really want to believe in aliens so will fit that into anything.

I know that sign pretty well at Grouse in that link there -- I climbed Grouse - did the Grouse Grind summer of 2006, did it sub-60 mins.

I lived for over a month at a rooming house about 200' or so from that sign. I was on the mountain top while they were shooting that movie

Shooter --- w Mark Wahlberg.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72