How I found a lost Bronze age dagger on a field "Treasure"

in #history7 years ago (edited)

01_20170829_143557.jpgon a summers day i was once again metal detecting with my gmax power, i had asked the farmer for permission to search on his premises, kindly he allowed me. After an hour or so and numerous digs only finding trash, i thought i would try a different section of the field higher up in terrain, my metal detector gave me a signal so i decided to dig. In a depth of around 4-5 inches i saw something with a green patina so i unearthed it. I could not believe it, i had found some sort of dagger but not completely sure at the time, i packed it away and carried on searching the area for a while. Finding nothing else apart from rubbish, i decided to call the archeologist that gave me the license to do these kind of searches and showed him photos i had done. He was also amazed and told me immediately its a bronze age dagger, an amazing 3500 years old, the type of blade he found to be "sögel" not many had been found in Germany.

04_20170829_143501.jpg

06_20170829_143435.jpg
it was supposedly put in a "chiefs" grave after death and that someone only important would have this type of material, after all it was hard to get hold of precious materials 1500 bc let alone craft a blade. I was over the moon thinking there might be more to reveal maybe even golden artifacts my archeologist thought the same, so we got a professional dig going. I was even allowed to drive the digger as i had learned landscaping. It was a very slow process uncovering layer for layer until we got to the grave, we documented it all before removing the top boulders to our disappointment however it turned out to be the bottom foundation of the grave.

05_20170829_143448.jpg
Farmers had plowed the earth for century's and destroyed the top layer of the grave leaving nothing left in its original state. I was smashed to pieces obviously, but on the other hand happy to have been able to do something like this in my lifetime a childhood dream came true in a way.

07_20170829_143355.jpg
Just thinking of touching something that was created by someone 3500 years ago is crazy, and fascinates me. To everyone in this hobby do not give up, there is lots more out there to be uncovered.

peace.

Sort:  

What an amazing discovery and your great dig adventure. Thanks for sharing your once in a lifetime find. A great part of history to discover.

Thanks for reading.

:)

Wow! Awesome discovery! I also have a metal detector and I want to find something like that!

Great post. Treasure hunting in Germany, sounds awesome.
Congratz on that find and good luck in the future.

Where you see the holes on the dagger was once a wooden hilt attached, that obviously has rotted away.
I wonder what kind of carvings and such it might have had.

That is a good experience search. keep on searching until you find more.

How fun for you what a great experience.

Thanks, it truly was an amazing experience.

Its mind blowing... So yeah, you held dagger, which was in a hand of Hunan that made it 3500 years ago, maybe he killed somebody or some animal with it and now you held it in years of great technologies... Through time

Yes i can only Imagine what history it has, 3500 years is along time. Maybe it got passed down from warrior to warrior in there family. When i hold it in my hand i hope it gives me a flashback, but it does not unluckily :(

Congrats, great find! Truly an archeologist's dream.

Maybe someone finds it 3500 years in the future again and doesn't know whether it was found again or is something that was lying there from 7000 years ago. Just adding some of my imagination to it.

I was also just wondering if DNA could be found on it still, after so long. That never came to my mind but with your post for some reason it just did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45