You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christopher Columbus "discovers" tobacco

in #history4 years ago

That is an interesting story with tobacco and our society. Especially when I see my patients in hospital and while clerking we ask if they smoke or not there are a larger % of them who admits that does, when we ask if they are aware about the harm all them admits to know, but when we ask if they would like a help of smoking cessation, majority says NO!

I think the tobacco companies are very lucky that people still happy to harm themselves and pay such expensive price both their health and money :)

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by. I think that most smokers know that they should stop but just wont. I lost an uncle recently to lung cancer and he smoked right up to the day he died despite being on oxygen but I suppose at that point it no longer mattered... it's not like stopping at that point was going to save his life. Even though I quit there is still a very good chance that the damage I did over the past 25 years has already put me at tremendous risk for future health problems.

However, that is not why i stopped. I stopped because i wanted to lose weight and exercise was difficult because I couldn't breathe. Now I don't even like to be around ciggies and when I go to bars that allow people to smoke indoors I won't hang out there very long. It isn't even the health concerns over 2nd hand smoke that bothers me, it is because the buildings stink!

When you are saying that you stopped smoking because you wanted to lose weight, I immediately recalled some of people who blame to gain weight because of stopping smoking. Although they add that instead they started to snack more too :)

yes, this is very common for people to gain weight after stopping smoking. I had a very dedicated plan and also had a nicotine supplement to help as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68091.64
ETH 2633.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68