You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "We Protest Against the System Adopted" - The Market Women of Colonial Nigeria

in #history6 years ago

I'm loving it. I don't think it's too complicated, and it's definitely interesting. The history of resistance is so important, particularly now when we are trying to fashion an effective resistance to the current nightmare. I love learning the myriad of different ways to thumb your nose at the oppressor.

Sort:  

That's why I love history. It can feel like we're shouting into the wind, isolated, but studying history shows us that we are actually part of a long tradition of radical fighters, working against hatred and oppression! ❤️

I'm glad it wasn't confusing. I tried to pull all the clunky academic language out and make it a little easier to read. I am well aware of my own fondness for long, complex sentences with lots of em dashes, commas, and semi-colons. 😭

Indeed. We stand on the shoulders of some mighty giants, and when I think of how much more courage it took in other points in history, it's quite inspiring.

I certainly understand how easy it is to get carried away with language when we're passionate, but I appreciate your effort. I was an environmental science major, and this was one of my big complaints about the field of science. In particular with environmental science I always thought it so important to speak plainly and clearly so the average person could understand. I think I was right too. When I look around and realize how little people understand about science, it's kind of sad, especially when a shift is so desperately needed.

I'm an alum of the McNair Scholars Program, which supports students from underrepresented backgrounds who wish to pursue PhDs, and I think one of the coolest parts was the fact that my cohort was mixed. It skewed pretty STEM-heavy, with only a few of us social science/humanities folks, but it was really cool for us to hear our colleagues in the program talk about the cool scientific research they were doing. The point of sharing with each other was to make our work accessible to people outside our fields, and most of my fellow scholars were pretty good at it!

That totally renews a portion of my faith in academia. I am incredibly glad to hear this.

Oops, duplicate post!

I do this all the time. My super slow internet makes it so much worse too.

I've been having trouble with busy, on and off. Not sure what's going on with it, but it's more a minor irritant than a serious issue.

Just laughed thinking that's the story of my life, "it's more of a minor irritant than a serious issue."

I have trouble with both Steemit and busy, so I go back and forth. Some days it's none of the above, and I just have to roll with it. Life in the jungle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42