The Chains of History

in #history7 years ago

When I was a little kid,
I remember going to my uncle's place.
He would let me watch this kid show called
Astrix & Obelix wich was themed during the time of ancient Rome.
It was during that time that my interest in History really started to develop.
I am by no means a historical expert, but let's just say history is a hobby of mine
that is always on my mind in one way or another.

One of the things that fascinate's me is the links that history is bound to.
If one link is removed it could change the entire world as we know it.
In my mind, I call it the chain of history. To show you what I mean.
I'll write down an example down here.

Let's go back to the year 218BC
During this time Hannibal Barca decides to attack Romes ally's and provoke Rome into a war so that after he can go cross the Alps and defeat them in a series of battles. Now, this event is what I call a link.

Imagine Hanibal Barca did not get to swear to be an enemy of Rome. What if he did not care about his father's grudges against Rome and decided not to provoke and attack Rome? Then, of course, Rome would not win the war. Scipio would not become this big military figure. And Rome would still have to share control of the Mediterranean with Carthage.

This might cause figures like Pompeii and Julius Ceasar not to rise the way they did.
Gaul might never be conquered and the Roman Empire might never be established.

If the Roman Empire never becomes what it was then Gaul might never be invaded by Germanic barbarians Including the Franks. And if the Franks never invade the Roman Empire then both the Holy Roman Empire and
France will never be established

If France is never Established or the French Revolution never happens then Napoleon Bonaparte would never rise to power.
If Napoleon Bonaparte would never rise to power, the Holy Roman Empire would never be disbanded, Italy would never be formed, Egypt would never be conquered and the modern German provinces wich would be the foundation of a unified Germany would never exist.

And If the Holy Roman Empire would never have been disbanded then maybe a unified German Empire would not have happened that fast or at all.

As a result, ww1 and ww2 might never have happened or never in the way it has happened in our own timeline.

These are things that I find interesting to think about.
Each of these things is a Link. And I am curious what event in the past has happened that will
trigger an event today wich will decide what will happen to the future of our modern world.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.
Hope you found this interesting.
Have a healthy and positive day.

Sort:  

History is my Jam too! I've always felt that the main motivation for Rome to conquer where they did was to encompass all the spheres of interest that used to be dominated by the Carthaginians. Note the Mediterranean flavour to British druidism(sacred groves anyone?)

Excellent post dear friend @sireastbound very interesting, congratulations thank you very much for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82