You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Lest We Forget" - Remembrance Day and Why Western Nations Respect It

in #history8 years ago

Interesting post @solarguy. While the media focus is on WW1 & WW2, Remembrance Day in Canada is about all those who fought and died as well as honouring all who served. That includes the two world wars, Korea, Cold War, Bosnia, Rwanda, Peacekeeping and Afghanistan.

Don't know if you intended to give the impression that the bonus for overseas duty is why our serving military compete to go but that is not the reason for the vast majority of them. They see it as their duty to go, it is what they train for.

I'll be leading one of those services today and then presiding at a Remembrance Dinner this evening.

Sort:  

Yes, thanks for the thoughtful comment.
I do know they also go because it's a duty and what they have probably always wanted to do. I didn't mean for it to sound like they were greedy for money, that's what Blackwater (formally known as, forget name new name at moment) is for.

I agree soldiers from all the wars should be remembered for bravery and valor.

I hope your ceremony goes well today I am also thinking of you guys. And thank you for your service, i do know that the world is truly a better place thanks to it. ^^

my only service is as a member of the Royal Canadian Legion. I'm a member because of the service of my grandfather, father, spouse and uncles who all served from WW1 to Korea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38