Traveling Through Time: A Visit to the Archeological Museum of Zagreb - Part 1/3

in #history6 years ago

Hello everyone!
Recently I have visited an Archeological Museum in Zagreb, the main city of Croatia. I must say that I was extremely pleased with what I have seen. The museum has four floors, and every floor has an exhibition of its own.
I will post pictures from every floor (every particular exhibition) in order. Even though I have spent four hours at the museum, I must say that was not enough and I will split the post into three parts in order to present it more vividly.

Therefore, I welcome all of you into the world of swords, helmets, epic weapons, coins, mummies, unknown objects and a whole lot of things. Even though I have said that I am a 'wannabe Indiana Jones', now I will retake the role of Dr Who in order to transfer you through ancient times, so buckle up!

The first part will tackle with the parts of the museum which has to do with the Copper, Bronze and the Iron Age on the grounds of Southeastern Europe.

24.jpg

5.jpg
A short sword from the Bronze Age

13.jpg

4.jpg
Tools and weapons used in the Copper Age

11.jpg
Helmet and greaves used by the Ilirian tribes

2.jpg
Bronze axe heads

12.jpg
Typical golden and bronze jewellery worn by the people of Southeastern Europe

1.jpg
This is the Vučedol Dove, the most famous Copper Age item found in Croatia. It is significant because it symbolizes fertility and it is associated with the cult of the Great Mother. We take great pride in this item and it is even placed on our national monetary currency. It is a representative emblem of the Vučedol culture which flourished between 3000 and 2200 BC.

To be continued.PNG

Sort:  

Pridruži se Ima regionalni chat, sigurno ce ti pomoci ima nas od svugdi pa baci oko.

https://discord.gg/9BmTUu

Hvala na pozivu! :)

I visited Croatia many years ago, and I do enjoy museums, so thanks for this virtual tour!

You're welcome! I hope to share many more of these. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seltkirk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love this! I was in Zagreb and there's a castle there with a ton of armor, too.

Thanks, there are alot of medieval castles around Zagreb and all are easy accessible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26