You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A brief history of guitar virtuosity... Part 2 (1980s) - (if you like it I'll continue)

in #history8 years ago (edited)

:


cool post...well maybe Hugh Cornwell (ex Stranglers) for punk guitarists, check his solo here
or Blixa Bargeld (Nick Cave&Bad Seeds) from that time...in jazz I missing Bill Frisell...and of course, just my opinion...

Sort:  

As to the Bill Frisell... I'm watching this right now:

I like how he rearranged these Beatles songs. My parents were huge Beatles fans, and my dad played a lot of Beatles covers in a band, so as you can imagine I had pretty high exposure to them.

Also... IF I miss people you think I missed feel free to link examples like you did in a comment.

EDIT: When I do what I call doodling (some people call it noodling) on my classical or clean tone guitars I actually kind of play like he does. I make up stuff like this and don't record it and since I was making it up on the spot it is one of a kind and generally not reproduceable.

EDIT 2: I'm not saying I am as good as him. Not close. Yet I do sound similar.

I haven't heard of him. I'll check out this video and maybe do some digging myself.

EDIT: RE Hugh Cornwell.... will check the others

The chords are simple as I'd expect from Punk but that solo is way more than typical punk. It is not virtuoso material, I could play that myself pretty easily. It definitely is DIFFERENT from what most Punk was doing at the time. Also not being VIRTUOSO level does not mean good. I don't think music requires being a virtuoso to be good. If I didn't narrow it down to virtuosos I could likely write 100 posts per decade and still miss people. :) So I focused on virtuoso level guitarists.

He DOES have some good parts in there. Yet I know what he is doing. I can see the scales in places as I've practiced them a lot myself. I am not close to virtuoso... in fact I'd suck right now I have played in a long time so my hands are way out of shape.

It is GOOD music though and I do appreciate you sharing. I had heard this song before, but live it is way better. Good stuff.

EDIT: That later stuff reminds me more of Jazz than punk. I played quite a bit of stuff like that in a Jazz band in college. Not really my thing, but I did it for awhile for the experience.

As I mentioned, I'm not a musician, I'm just a listener...maybe I'd mention Robert Fripp also.. .

I've heard of Robert Fripp before but I'll have to check him out. I also will give you some leeway since you are not a musician. You wouldn't be listening and thinking WOW! That is super difficult... You would simply be thinking DAMN THAT SOUNDS GOOD. The difficult stuff doesn't always sound good. :)

EDIT: Nevermind.... Robert Fripp... I clicked on your link and saw King Crimson and went DUH yeah he is definitely worthy of being in the list. King Crimson is full of talented people.